What was I thinking????

Twice a week, I choose…choose…to subject my body, mind, and soul to torture.

Torture is actually an understatement.

Twice a week, ThrillCam and I drive our tired, weary, out-of-shape 40+ year-old bodies to YMCA to see Cheri.

She looks all sweetness and light, but don’t be fooled.

Underneath that power-lifter body and friendly smile is …is…well, I don’t know what it is, but it’s not right!!!

Okay, maybe that’s a little harsh.

She has become my friend, after all.

But, mercy me… She’s tough.

And good.

We are still working out on the TRX system, which is a strap system that uses your own body weight for resistance. (We also use kettle bell weights, the stationary bike, medicine balls, and any other item used to break the spirit of a human being.)

(It even looks like a torture device, no??)

We work out on Tuesdays and Fridays and it never fails that our muscles…no, our very beings…are sore for at least two days following.

And, then we go right back in for more.

It’s stupid.

It makes no sense.

It’s horrible.

I die a little each time.

Don’t believe me?

This is the proof.

20120329-123748.jpg

Cheri worked me so hard I couldn’t even get up from the floor last week.

And, yet, I love it.

I do.

I think.

My core is so much stronger.

My stamina is so much stronger.

…No, I haven’t lost weight.

Yet.

But, that requires changes in my eating and I’m not there yet.

It’s enough that my muscles are in pain…I’m not ready for my stomach to be.

I’m not ready to be in a bad mood 7 days a week.

I’ll settle for just the 4-5 days that I’m sore and angry for now….

E.

P.S. To be honest, I cannot say enough GOOD things about Cheri. She is absolutely awesome! I’ve never met a trainer more knowledgeable, more capable, or more caring. THANK YOU, CHERI!!!

I think.

One comment

  1. Pingback: Sunday « Out to Lunch…

I'm curious. Tell me what you think...

