Pico or Salsa?

IMG_5166-Editweb

Should I make Pico de Gallo or Salsa with my tomatoes and peppers?

Julie R. gave me the peppers from her father’s garden. There are both jalapeno and serrano peppers in the bunch.

I’ve never cooked with serrano peppers before. Have you?

They just sound hot, don’t they?

Super hot.

If my youngest son were typing this, he’d follow Super Hot with, “I’m super hot, you know.”

IMG_1052 copy

Yes, super hot.

I LOVE jalapeno peppers, though!

Yum!

So…pico or salsa?

Which do you think?

Do you have a favorite recipe for either?

Pico is extremely simple: chopped tomatoes, chopped onion, diced peppers, cilantro, salt and pepper, maybe a squeeze of lime juice.

(I don’t know if it was because it was on the island of Cozumel, or what, but I had the best pico de gallo there. Just simple pico and lightly salted tortilla chips. So fresh and yummy!)

Salsa is different. Everyone has a favorite recipe.

Do I add avacados? Pineapple? Mango?

Chunky? Or pureed and smooth?

My tomatoes are very sweet, by the way. Like really sweet! I love them!

But, if they are that sweet, would you do a sweet salsa instead?

Or leave it as is and let the sweet tomatoes mingle with the peppers and onions, so they form their own alliance?

IMG_5167-Editweb

What say you?

Pico?

Salsa?

E.

One comment

I'm curious. Tell me what you think...

