That Good ol’ Summertime… Part Uno

web save for blog 022 copy

 

I love summer.  That’s one of the things you need to know about me.  It’s my favorite time of year, but certainly not because of the incessant heat (and humidity),  in my part of Texas.   I choose to ignore those aspects of the good ol’ summertime.

 

Since there are numerous reasons why I love summer, I thought I’d kick-start my blog by showing you.   (Plus, I need a place to share my inner-mourning over the end of a perfectly good summer.  I rather prefer the schedule, or lack thereof, of summer.  The start of school brings about structure and schedule.  Yuck.)

 

To quote Julie Andrews, these are some of my favorite things.

 

Summer veggies.  They’re the best, right?  I always feel so much better eating the fat-laden pizza or hamburger, if I have a yummy summer vegetable sitting by its side. 

 

web save for blog 020 copy

 

One of my favs?  Tomatoes…right off the vine.

 

websaveblogSummer '09 068 copy

Sweet, juicy, ripe tomatoes plucked right off the vine are the very best….  Growing up, my parents would just slice them, put them on a plate, and serve them with lunch or dinner.

 

And, don’t even get me started on those delectable little cherry tomatoes.

 

web save for blog 011 copy

 

You can just pop these in your mouth like candy.

 

web save for blog 013 copy

 

 

That burst of juice when you take a bite…mercy.  Add a little salt and pepper, and it’s a little taste of heaven…

 

 

web save for blog 014 copy

 

 

I thought it might be a good idea to grow my own tomatoes, this year.  It had been a couple of years since I had done so.   In the past, I’ve had relatively good luck growing my own tomatoes; they’re pretty easy to care for.  And, it doesn’t hurt my cause that tomatoes love our Texas sun and heat! 

 

So, earlier this summer I did what any t.v.-obsessed individual would do.  I purchased the Topsy-Turvy!  

 

 

websaveTopsy-turvy cropped copy

 

The Topsy-Turvy is an amazing creation that defies all logic in the plant world…or, at least, my world.  You plant a young tomato plant, upside down, in the contraption and then hang it.   After a week or two of tender, loving care, you will magically have a HUGE tomato plant growing downward.

 

I just knew that by, say, early July I would have big, red, juicy tomatoes. 

 

Tomato.  That’s what I got.  One. 

 

It was not big, or juicy.  Unfortunately, I did not take a picture of it.  It was not worthy.   In fact, once I plucked that scrawny fruit from its stem, this is what happened:

 

websaveTopsyTurvy '09 072 copy

 

 

I still haven’t mustered up the guts to move the tomato plant carcass from my porch. 

 

Maybe I haven’t moved it because I believe it’s a metaphor….  Summer ’09 is coming to an end; shriveling, drying up…another good summer gone.

 

websaveSummer '09 073 copy

 

Thanks a lot, Topsy-Turvy.

 

I’m thinking I might have better luck with a Snuggie.

E.

9 comments

  1. Sheena Fleener

    You crack me up!!! Love the tomato story!!! Love you more!!!!!!!!

    Sheena

    P.S. Let me know how it goes with the snuggie. 🙂

    • Elizabeth Simmons

      I’m tellin’ you….You could buy tomatoes at the grocery store and be a better tomato farmer than me!!

  2. Heather

    I have to comment on this! I have been watching this Topsy Turvy contraption hanging from your house all summer. I was hoping that it would produce some beautiful tomatoes and then I could go out and buy one. Thanks for saving me some money!

  3. Elizabeth Simmons

    Oh, Heather, how embarrassing!! I’m so glad I could save you some money, though!
    So, I’m thinking I am going to try again with some Fall tomatoes….
    Keep watching…. E.

  4. Julie

    Oh, wow. I can’t wait till you see the topsy-turvy post coming up on my blog. It will be over the weekend I am sure. I didn’t have any luck with the tomatoes either, but had a little with the peppers.

  5. Pingback: Throwdown. «
  6. Pingback: A Handy Dandy Holiday Decorating Tip…for…um…next year… « Out to Lunch…
  7. Pingback: Planted. | Out to Lunch...

I'm curious. Tell me what you think...

