Are you ready for some football?!

CSHS vs Brazoswood 048 copy 3

 

I’m one of those people (read: girls) who actually likes football.  But, I will qualify that by saying, I like it in person.  I’m not as keen on watching it on tv; I mean, I’ll watch it on tv, but it’s not the same.  There’s just something about being at a stadium watching live football. 

 

I’ve never been to a professional football game, and I’m sure I’d like it, but, I probably wouldn’t like it as much as college ball.  And, I know I wouldn’t like it as much as high school football.

 

See, I live in Texas.  And, in Texas, high school football is King.   Friday night lights.  Cheerleaders.  Stale popcorn and that odd processed cheese slopped over chips, with a side of jalepenos, of course.   Does it get any better than this?  (Okay, ask me next Spring when baseball season starts and I may beg to differ, but for now, football rules!)

 

This week, I had the opportunity to run over to my son’s high school to document Two-a-days.  (If you are male and played football in high school, those words still strike fear in your heart.)  Two-A-Days, for those of you who have sweet, little girls who smell good, aren’t wiggly, and have no desire, whatsoever, to put on pads and tackle someone, is exactly as the title says.  The boys meet early, early in the morning (in an attempt to avoid the rising heat) to practice for a couple of hours, then they go home for the day only to return later that afternoon for more practice. 

 2009 Two-A-Days 284 blogcopy

(In one of my later posts, I’ll strive to describe just how breathtakingly horrid it smells while standing in the midst of 90-plus high school boys at 4pm, in 100 degree weather, with nary a breeze to be found….  Let’s suffice it to say, I’m still waiting for my nostril hairs to grow back.)

 

2009 Two-A-Days 225 blogcopy

 

It’s hot.

 

2009 Two-A-Days 212 blogcopy

 

It’s humid.

 

2009 Two-A-Days 210 blogcopy

 

The practices are seemingly never-ending.

 

2009 Two-A-Days 015 blogcopy

 

But, it builds character.

 

2009 Two-A-Days 021 blogcopy

 

 

It builds unity.

 

 

2009 Two-A-Days 017 blogcopy

 

It builds a team.

 

And, the boys love it.  I mean, they really, really love it.

 

2009 Two-A-Days 086 blogcopy

 

They must, because they continue to return, twice a day, to the heat, the humidity…

 

2009 Two-A-Days 052 blogcopy

 

 

the clashing of helmets… 

 

 

2009 Two-A-Days 244 blogcopy

 

 

and the slamming of bodies….

 

 

2009 Two-A-Days 266 blogcopy

 

 

 I don’t understand it.  But, I’m glad they do.

 

 

2009 Two-A-Days 211 blogcopy

 

Did I mention it was hot?

E.

One comment

  1. td

    My 9 year old has been playing for 4 years now, first 2 flag and last two on a travel tackle team. He hates practice and thankfully we’ve had nothing like the heat you guys have had this year so he hasn’t really suffered.

I'm curious. Tell me what you think...

