Chrysalis.

Remember my little critter friends?

181 blogcopy

I thought I’d give you an update.

First, though, I wanted you to see what the little boogers did to my Milkweed plant:

022

They pretty much stripped it of all the leaves….  They left little toppers of small leaves, but that’s about it.

023 

I’ve got to get out there with the clippers and trim back the spindly stems.  It’s looking a little pitiful.

027

But, it was worth the sacrifice of my plant for this:

chrysalis021 blogcopy

The chrysalis. 

The one above is not quite ready.  That Monach butterfly is still going through metamorphosis.

This one, though, is just about ready!

chrysalis019 blogcopy

According to Wikipedia:  “In the pupa or chrysalis stage, the caterpillar spins a silk pad on a twig, leaf, etc., and hangs from this pad by its last pair of prolegs. It hangs upside down in the shape of a ‘J’, and then molts, leaving itself encased in an articulated green exoskeleton. At this point, hormonal changes occur, leading to the development of a butterfly (metamorphosis). The chrysalis darkens (actually becomes transparent) a day before it emerges, and its orange and black wings can be seen.”

That’s where we are with the above butterfly!!  I’m so excited!

Tomorrow, though, we are expecting rain, which really concerns me.  I know that Monarchs have been doing this on their own for…well, forever.  But, I’m so worried this little guy will be trying to dry out his brand new wings during the rain and cold front…. 

chrysalis018 blogcopy

I’ve already set out the umbrella, just in case he needs some protection from the elements. 

And, I’ll have my camera ready, too, come rain or shine.

Have a happy day,

E.

I'm curious. Tell me what you think...

