MMmmmm…Pumpkin…

I know the stores, and even my children, are already looking beyond Thanksgiving and on to Christmas, but not me!  I refuse to rush through the Fall just to get to Christmas.

 

 

 

So, in honor of the Fall and Thanksgiving, I am posting a couple recipes.

 

 

 

 

 

 

First, I took a well-known Weight Watchers recipe and tried something new with it.  (Please don’t let the WW title scare you away from trying this recipe.  I promise, from someone who loves her butter and cream cheese with a passion, this will not let you down.)

 

 

 

Normally, I make this recipe into muffins for a yummy and healthy breakfast.  My kids love them!  But, today, I decided to try cooking the recipe into a loaf, like pumpkin or banana bread.

 

 

 

 

 

 

So easy and so tasty!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Because I love chocolate, I added semi-sweet chocolate chips!  But, that’s certainly optional.  (This recipe can be made in an all chocolate version, as well!)  My husband and youngest boy like the version without the chocolate, so I made the larger loaf without, whereas, the smaller loaves have ’em.

 

 

 

And, whether you bake the batter in muffin tins or a loaf pan, you will be pleased with the results! 

 

 

 

Moist and de-lish!

 

 

 

For the second recipe, I pulled a photo that I took last Fall, when I shared the recipe with friends on Facebook.  The picture is a little grainy, but you get the idea.

 

 

 

Pumpkin Soup!

 

 

 

 

 

 

This is a savory soup that will make you do the Happy Food Dance, I promise!!  I made it the other night for a group and they loved it.

 

 

 

The pumpkin is not a strong flavor in either recipe, but adds depth to both.

 

 

 

(I’m sorry I didn’t take pictures of the process of cooking each recipe, but I didn’t think of it until I was done.)

 

 

 

Please, please, for the love of Pete, try these recipes!  They are both extremely easy and extremely tasty!

 

 

 

SPICE MUFFINS/BREAD

 

1 box Spice (or Devil’s Food!) cake mix

 

1 can pumpkin

 

1/2 pumpkin can water

 

semi-sweet chocolate chips (optional)

 

(I even add some protein powder when I make these, to add a little umph for my kids’ breakfast.  Optional)

 

Mix ingredients together, until moist. 

 

Bake, following cake package directions for muffins.  (If baking in a loaf pan, bake at 350 degrees, for 40-45 minutes.  Check, occasionally, to make sure top is not browning too much–if it is, place foil over the top of pan.  Check done-ness–it might take a little longer.)

 

 

 

 

 

PUMPKIN SOUP

 

 
2 T. butter
2 celery stalks, diced
1 onion, diced
1 T. flour
1 t. salt
1/8 t. ground ginger
1/8 t. freshly grated nutmeg
3 C. chicken broth
1 (16 oz.) can pumpkin
1 C. Half-n-Half

 

 

 

Melt butter in large saucepan over medium heat. Add celery and onion and saute` until onion is golden–about 10 minutes.

 

 

 

Blend in flour, salt, ginger, and nutmeg–cook 3 minutes longer.

 


Stir in chicken stock and canned pumpkin.
Simmer on low for 30 minutes.
Transfer to blender or processor and puree until smooth (in batches, if necessary).

 

 

Turn into large bowl, stir in Half-n-half, blending well.

 

 

 

Serve warm with crusty, chewy bread of choice while sitting by a warm fire….

 

 

 

Enjoy!

 

E.

 

 

 

3 comments

  1. Pingback: New and old favorites « Out to Lunch…

I'm curious. Tell me what you think...

