Reunion

When we return to visit my mom in the country, we rarely, if ever, visit with anyone other than my family.  We just don’t get out there as often as we’d like, so when we go, we end up staying out in the boonies, never seeing fellow human beings.  It always seems that time flies by and before we know it, it’s time to go back home.

But, fortunately, on my last visit, my college roommate, who lives in a nearby city, called.

 

She didn’t allow me to get by with my usual, “Oh, let’s do get together!  Let’s see how the week goes and hopefully we can have lunch.”   (It’s a very sincere, genuine, and heartfelt promise, really.)  Unfortunately, the plans ultimately fall apart, because I hunker down and never leave my mom’s.  I never seem to follow-through.

Not this time, though!  Marcy forced me to commit.  I could no longer offer a wishy-washy, ambiguous maybe.

I think the last time I saw her was at my father’s funeral (which meant a great deal to me).  Before that?  I couldn’t tell you….it had been far too long. 

So, needless to say, I was thrilled to see and visit with her.

She’s on staff as a Children’s Director at her church.   I love that.  (My husband is also in the ministry, so it’s nice to be able to talk with someone else who gets church staff life–the struggles, the joys, the ups and downs, etc.  She understands.  She also prays for me, which I really, really appreciate and cherish.)

When we were in college together I don’t know that either one of us had planned on being in the ministry. 

Well, actually, I can’t speak for her, but I certainly never saw that one coming!  I was a theatre major.  Marriage wasn’t even on the radar at the time.  And, marriage to a man who would dedicate his life to serving others in ministry wasn’t even a consideration….  I often feel like a square peg in a round hole in this whole pastor’s wife gig, although, I sure wouldn’t trade the path God has led me on.

But, Marcy?  She was far better equipped than I for a life in ministry.  She’s always had a very generous heart.  She’s one smart cookie, too.  

I imagine children feel God’s love when she’s spending time with them, loving and serving them.  She’s a beautiful individual inside and out.  

Hey, if you attend a church, please lift up your pastor(s), ministry directors/staff and their families, today; it’s greatly appreciated.  It makes a difference.  

I know I speak for folks just like Marcy when I say thank you!

E.

I'm curious. Tell me what you think...

