Monday Photography Tip

Happy Monday to all!

I’m going to try something new.  I thought it would be fun to give easy photography tips on Mondays.   We’ll see if I can keep it up every Monday, but it doesn’t hurt to try, right?! 

Over the weekend, I worked on a gift for the high school football coaches, which meant I was neck-deep in football photography, again. 

I thought I’d post a few of my favorites from this past season. 

I really liked the one above, because it’s so close–I actually got the opponent in better focus, but I think that’s why I like it so much.  You can see his face; he looks as though he’s gauging how hard the ground is going to be when he hits it… ‘cuz he’s going down!  And, I love that you can see “Just Win” on our team’s ball. 

It’s not that the pictures, themselves, are all that great, really. 

Sometimes, like above, simplicity rules.  Nothing special. Gatorade is a staple at football games.  So, why not a picture of all the cups waiting to be grabbed?  

Photos of the people and objects at and around the event help convey something about what is going on besides the action or event being photographed. 

In the above shot, which is fairly simple and straight-forward (a helmet and gloves), I applied an action called, Urban Acid, in Photoshop.  I liked the original, but I felt like the added color and effect made it more appealing–it brought out the scratches on the helmet.

In the above picture, I liked the way the light reflected off the helmets.  And, it’s dark, but you can still see #41’s eyes.  Also, everyone else is out of focus.

The above shot is self-explanitory.  You could take the same kind of shot if you’re at your child’s soccer game, or baseball game.

Like I said, they’re not anything terribly special.  But, they fill in some details that would otherwise be missing, if I solely took pictures of that action on the field.

So, here you go…

Tip for the day: when you are at a birthday party, or at your child’s sporting event, etc., try to take pictures of the people and objects around you that will fill in the blanks of the story.  Keep the shots simple.

Have a great day,

E.

2 comments

  1. Lori

    Awesome! Thanks for the tip! My boys left their high top basketball shoes in a pile on our hardwood floor and after reading your tip, I decided to take a picture before tossing them in their closets! I love the way it turned out!

I'm curious. Tell me what you think...

