Pre-Prom Photos…

I am doing something new, at least for me, this Spring. 

I’m offering to take pre-Prom Portraits.  

I am very excited about this project!

I want to provide a fresh, new way to document this memory-maker for the high schoolers in my area.

You see, the students set up a portrait session on the afternoon before Prom.  They come to a pre-determined location where we take pictures before they leave for dinner or the Prom.

I mean, the posed, formal pictures the kids take at the Prom are great, but I want to offer something different.  Something more casual and spontaneous…fun, not stiff.

I want to give the kids an opportunity to capture the fun that goes hand-in-hand with Prom.

I’m looking forward to seeing the beautiful girls in their beautiful dresses.  And, what about those handsome, young men?  I can’t wait to see them all cleaned up and looking spiffy.

I love taking high school students’ pictures…they are so animated and expressive.  This is going to be so much fun!

(Ohh!  I also just borrowed a really cool chaise lounge from a family member.  I think it will add a little funk to the session!)

I’ll give you an update in a few weeks.

Have a great day,

E.

P.S. A big shout-out to Melissa and her friend (and soon to be college roommate) Christy, who graciously posed for these pictures.   They did a great job!  Thanks girls!

7 comments

  1. Rivertrekker

    Beautiful pictures. You really captured their beauty. My favorite is the 5th one down. Very good. 😀

  2. shutterboo

    This is very sweet and great idea. My DAd actually went to my proms with his 35mm. He told people he was with me but never mentioned the fact he was my father. People seriously thought I hired a photographer. He took several rolls of film and we would develop them all – and then I’d start searching for faces in the halls to give them away. He helped me capture the memory of high school and I love him for it.

    • Elizabeth Simmons

      Shutterboo,
      I love that your dad did that for you! And, I love that you were fine with him tagging along–that says a lot about your relationship.
      Thanks for stopping by!
      E.

  3. Tammie

    Oh how I wish you lived closer to us. Andrew’s prom is Saturday. We have someone coming to take pictures and we are doing them at the Zoo and I know they will be ok, but I so wish it were you.

    Can’t wait, (well, yes I can, really) for you to do his Senior pictures next year.

    Love ya,
    Tamms~

    • Elizabeth Simmons

      Tammie,
      I hope Andrew has a super time at Prom! And, yes, I wish I were closer.
      BUT, we WILL be taking some Senior Portraits come next year!! Let’s not rush it, though…cause once your boy is a Senior, that means my boy is a Junior, which isn’t too far behind…. 😦

I'm curious. Tell me what you think...

