Belated.

March Madness takes on a different meaning in my house.  While we beat the drum for our Baylor Bears and their successes on the basketball court, we also had other things to think about.

During March, we celebrate all three boys’ birthdays (my two punks and our dog), plus, Spring Break, plus the start of baseball season.  That’s along with the regular everyday stuff.

It can bring about a feeling of chaos, even though each event is exciting and worthy of its own celebration. 

So I realized, here in the month of April, I never acknowledged my youngest son’s birthday on my blog.  That’s not such a big deal, in the big scheme of things, but I wrote a post for Bear, the stinkin’ dog, for goodness sakes!!  You’d think my youngest off-spring deserves at least as much as the dog….

I’m a bad mom. 

Or, at least, I’m a bad blogger-mom. 

Bad blogger-mom!  Bad blogger-mom!

So, here is my feeble attempt to give a shout-out to my baby. 

He’s now 11 years old.  Amazing.  I can’t believe it.  It’s gone by so quickly! 

And, I guess I could sit in the corner, curled into the fetal position, and cry over the loss of time, but I try to see things from a different point of view:  IT’S ONLY A MERE 7 OR 8 YEARS BEFORE HE MOVES OUT!!  I mean, we’ve gotten through the first 11 and it’s flown by, so just think, the next 7 or 8 will SCREAM by!! 

Empty nest, here I come!!!

I’m kiiiddddiiinnnngggg.

_________________________________________________________

Guess what my boy wanted to do for his birthday party… an Airsoft War. 

Do your boys have Airsoft Guns?  No?  Oh.

Oh dear.

Well…my boys love ’em.

(Please don’t judge me.)

They had an absolutely-fantastic-testosterone-filled time at his party!

(Again, please don’t judge me.)

Mercy, they look like a bunch of hooligans, don’t they?!  I wouldn’t trust a single one of ’em to walk my granny across the street….

(Don’t worry–they ALL had to wear protective gear to participate.)

___________________________________________________________________

Wasn’t it just yesterday that he was running around bare-footed, wielding a long stick, and sporting his Teen Titans Robin costume??

 (You know this photo will one day be in the obligatory rehearsal dinner slide show.)

While I am mourning the pace at which my children are growing, at the same time, I am so thrilled to watch them evolve into young men who will one day, hopefully, be strong, caring individuals, who contribute positively to society. Men who are not ashamed of their faith.  Men who desire God’s favor, as well as the people He places before them. 

Men who love God and love people. 

Seems simple enough.

It’s one of my many prayers for my boys.

Sooooo….

Happy belated birthday, my freakishly tall, gun-totin,’ eleven-year-old, baby boy.

You continue to charm the socks off your mama, daily.

I love you.
Mom

3 comments

I'm curious. Tell me what you think...

