Happy Mother’s Day

Today, is a bittersweet day. 

First, and foremost, I celebrate my mother.  Happy Mother’s Day, Mom!

My mom was and is a great mom.

How cute are they?!

 

That’s my mom and daddy back before my sister and I were even a glimmer in their eye.   They were just hanging out in the Grand Canyon enjoying life as a cute married couple.  Thoughts of changing diapers, wiping snotty noses, sibling rivalries, 13 year olds, driving–and wrecking–cars, high school drama, college tuitions, or being grandparents and starting it all over again, never even crossed their minds while standing there posing for that picture.

Neither one of them had a clue what my sister and I would eventually bring their way.  And, my mom is still having to deal with us, only now she’s doing it alone, without her best friend.

Look at those long, skinny legs!  My father took this picture of my mother back in 1969.

 

Besides celebrating my wonderful mother, today, I will also be remembering my father.   He passed away on this day in 2008.

I’m sure my mom’s thoughts return to daddy, as well.   Bittersweet.

I’m pretty sure if she thinks over her years of being a mom, it’s bittersweet, too. 

How hard it must have been, at times, to be my mother…. (I remember her telling me once, “I really didn’t like you when you were in 8th grade.”)

So, to be honest I’m not real sure I want my mother to think much, today, on being my mom. 

Because, if she does, she might just think how many times she would have liked to do this to me:

And, that’s not such a pretty sight.

I love you, Mom. 

Thanks for not putting me in the stocks as often as you would have liked!

Thinking of you today,

E.

4 comments

    • Elizabeth Simmons

      Wow!! You know, I had never, ever thought that until you wrote that! He does, though! Thanks for pointing that out to me…

  1. Mom

    I did too like you in the eighth grade. It was all those other eighth-graders that weren’t so tolerable….

    I am so pleased and flattered with your comments – and can I say? a little teary-eyed. We do miss him, don’t we? And I love you more than I can say.

    For the record, I want to know where you came up with all those photos of me with a waist-line – and dark hair. Just amazing!!

    Love you bunches, Mom

I'm curious. Tell me what you think...

