Oh-oh, the Wells-Fargo Wagon is a’Comin’ down the street…

Well, the Delivery Man Cometh.  And, he broughteth.  And I’m very, very exciteth!

(So, if you’ve never seen the musical, “The Music Man,” you don’t get that title.  But, if you have, then you will be singing that song for the rest of the day.  And, you must belt out Ron Howard’s lisp-y, “sthomthin sthpeshal juth for me!”)

Because I am an employee in our school district, I was able to apply for the Educational Discount through Adobe.  I saved nearly $1,000…wait, DID YOU READ THAT CLOSELY?!?!…nearly $1,000.00 off the latest version of Photoshop 5 Extended and Lightroom 2!!!

If you’re unfamiliar with these two products, they are fantastic pieces of software that photographers and designers use, often.

I still have a lot to learn with both products, but mainly Lightroom 2, because I’ve never owned or used it before.  So, over the next few weeks I will be watching a lot of YouTube videos and listening to a lot of podcasts, and reading a lot of articles about how to use the software efficiently.  (I use an older version of Photoshop, so I’m looking forward to learning the new techniques.  And, yes, I should have waited until the latest version of Lightroom comes out, but I was impulsive and didn’t want to wait.)

If you have any tips or great websites that can help me with Lightroom 2, please let me know!  I’d love to check out any and all of them.  (This summer I plan to learn how to better use Lightroom 2, Photoshop 5, and I want to re-vamp my whole photography website.  So, needless to say, I have a lot to do!)

Believe you, me; I need all the help I can get.

E.

2 comments

  1. Judith Johnson

    Here’s something I researched and have been wanting to do myself but haven’t had time to do yet.

    Lynda.com is a compilation of tutorial videos that has been highly recommended to me by my techie friends. Adobe products are one of their specialties. You can watch as many as you want for $25/month — you can just do one month or get a discount for a year subscription. You also get to download files to practice the techniques you learned. Or, get a second screen and work along with the video!

    I have CS4 Webdesign but have only scratched the surface of using all the great products!

    • Elizabeth Simmons

      Yes! I’ve visited Lynda.com a couple times. I just haven’t subscribed for the very same reason: time. I want to know that I’ll have the time to sit and watch the videos and apply what they teach.

      I’m tellin’ you, though, podcasts are the DA BOMB!! Free and easy to watch at your leisure.

      Thanks, Judith, for the tip!

I'm curious. Tell me what you think...

