Camping Trip

ThrillCam and our friends Shannon and Brett are away on a camping trip this week.  They volunteered to take 10 boys from our church on a camping/canoeing trip in Arkansas.

Catch that?  10 BOYS camping.

No iPods.  No iTouches.  No Nintendo DSs, or PSPs.  Just 10 boys, a few canoes, some tents, and the green grass God gave them.

God bless their little pea-pickin’ hearts.

Because of various and sundry things going on in my life, I was unable to tag along.

But, I will say, I’m sort of sad I’m not with them.

The other parents and I sent them off with lots of prayer coverage, sunscreen, bug spray, and plenty of sugary snacks to keep them good and hyper for the 10-plus hour drive to the campsite.

Two pick-up trucks full to the brim, and an Expedition was needed for all their gear and luggage.

Of course, guess who forgot to fill up the Expedition with gas the night before?

Yep.  That would be me.

So, they pulled out of the parking lot of the YMCA at 8am….

…and promptly stopped at 8:23am to fill up the car.  (Sorry, Shannon!!)

Eventually, they were on the road.

The caravan made it safely to their destination without any luggage flying out of the trucks, only to arrive in rain.  From the brief report ThrillCam gave, it wasn’t raining too hard, but it probably didn’t make setting up camp much fun.

I begged ThrillCam to take pictures, so those of us who couldn’t go could catch a glimpse into how the week was going.  Now, because ThrillCam is not me, he does not think to take out the camera–even if it is his phone camera–to take snapshots of life.  He does it when he thinks of it, which isn’t often, or when I text him and say, “SEND ME PICTURES!!”

He’s done a good job.  (Thanks, babe!)


Here are a few:

Canoeing!!  I love canoeing.  Doesn’t that look pretty out there?!

I could soooo take down all those boys in a canoe competition!!  (If you haven’t read my account of the time ThrillCam asked me to go on a little kayak excursion when I was 5 months pregnant with our youngest, please check it out…but, only if you want to avoid dental work, balancing your checkbook, or basically anything productive at all.  It explains why I love canoes and despise kayaks.  But, I digress.)

My nephew caught his first-ever fish!!  (And, yes, I can confirm that he is wearing a different shirt from the first day.  His mother will be proud…. Read yesterday’s blog post, What Not to Wear at Kamp; it’s the very next post as you scroll down.  You will then understand.)

Our neighbor also caught a fish!

The boys were treated, one night, to a dinner of spaghetti and meatballs!  Other meals planned for the evenings include hot dogs and hamburgers, and I think, foil packet meals.

The kids were pretty worn out after the first day of canoeing…

Give those boys some S’MORES!!   They deserve it!

From all reports, the rain has finally moved out of the area, the river and campsite are beautiful, and much fun is being had.

Wish I were there.

No, really, I do!

Next year, by golly.

E.

4 comments

  1. Shannon

    Hello. Everyone. Camping has been great fun and wouldn’t have traded this for one minute. Elizabeth may not klbow but some of our youth are a littl jealous of the ac that brett and I have along with Camerons and Griffin have fans. Will have e post Pictures Later. Brett nick and I stayed back today to clean up camp and enjoy the roar of the highway and to listen to our fellow camping neighbors bang on bongos (we enjoyed that until around 1230 last night). Can’t wait to see you all Sunday. We will have recuperated by then. Did I mention that we are planning four next year

  2. Sherri

    Wow, Cameron took some good pictures! Thanks for posting them so we can see what they guys are doing 🙂

  3. Stacey

    Thank You for the pics, they are great! I’m glad to see and hear that everyone is safe and having a fun with no electronics. See you tomorrow : )

I'm curious. Tell me what you think...

