3rd Annual World Wide Photo Walk, 2010

Very dark and early on Saturday morning (4 a.m. to be exact), I drove to Galveston, Texas, to participate in Scott Kelby’s 3rd Annual World Wide Photo Walk.

I’d never done anything like this before, so I was both excited and nervous.  I honestly had no idea what to expect.  It sounded fun and creative.  And, I figured I would meet some new photographers from around the Houston area.

Since it was such an early start, I couldn’t convince any of my friends to join me, so I went it alone.

Photographers from all over the Houston and SE Houston area met at Starbucks, in Galveston, across from the Wharf, where the cruise ships depart.   (We met before Starbucks was open, so you know it was early!)

We made introductions, small talk, and coated ourselves with plenty of Off as we waited for the sun to begin its approach.

I must admit, our position was a little disappointing–the setting left a little to be desired, plus, the sunrise’s impact was lessened due to the low clouds.  But on the upside, I was able to practice shooting in low light.  (I’ll give more info. on camera settings in a future post.)  And, if I’m honest, I should have moved around a bit more, in search of a better position.

Following the sunrise, we all began walking around The Strand, a cool strip of shops and hotels in Galveston, located across from the wharf.

And, as we walked, we took pictures.  Hence, the name Photo Walk.

The goal of the walk was social, not educational, although, I certainly learned.  Its purpose was to allow photographers from various locations to gather together and enjoy the camaraderie that comes with having a passion in common.

I made some new friends and got a creative shot in the arm, in the process.

I highly recommend you find a Photo Walk in your area, next year!  Not all of them start before the sun rises, some are scheduled for sunset.  And, they are everywhere, all over the world!  (I say, next year, I should travel to Italy to participate in a Walk there!)

I’ve been inspired, for sure.

I’m still going through my photos, but I will post more soon,

E.

2 comments

  1. Pingback: World Wide Photo Walk is Approaching! «

I'm curious. Tell me what you think...

