Baptism


Delmar O’Donnell: Well that’s it, boys. I’ve been redeemed. The preacher’s done warshed away all my sins and transgressions. It’s the straight and narrow from here on out, and heaven everlasting’s my reward.
Ulysses Everett McGill: Delmar, what are you talking about? We’ve got bigger fish to fry.
Delmar O’Donnell: The preacher says all my sins is warshed away, including that Piggly Wiggly I knocked over in Yazoo.
Ulysses Everett McGill: I thought you said you was innocent of those charges?
Delmar O’Donnell: Well I was lyin’. And the preacher says that that sin’s been warshed away too. Neither God nor man’s got nothin’ on me now. C’mon in boys, the water is fine.

(From the movie, O’ Brother, Where Art Thou?)

That movie makes me laugh.  So quirky and odd.  But, certainly a favorite among many.

Love the version of the song, “Down to the River to Pray,” sung by Allison Krauss, in the above scene.  I can hear it as I type.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

We baptized last Sunday, at our church.

It’s always a joyful experience, even if it’s in the unconventional YMCA pool.  (Since our church uses the local YMCA on Sunday mornings, we used their pool for our baptisms, which I think is great!  Everyone just circles around, gets in close–none of this sitting in a pew, way far away stuff.)

Above is one of my BFFs getting dunked!  It made my heart sing to see her, as an adult, being baptized.  (She was baptized as a child, and while not dishonoring that tradition, she wanted, as an adult, to be baptized, again.)

I was so happy for her.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Both ThrillCam and I were baptized in our childhood churches, high up in the baptistery.  (Isn’t that the word for them??)

My oldest son, when he became a Christian, was baptized in a public pool.  ThrillCam had the honor of baptizing him.

Our youngest, though, while also baptized by his daddy, was dunked in middle of a creek.   Very cool, in my opinion.  Not more meaningful, necessarily, just more…what?   Not authentic, because each of our baptisms were authentic.  I don’t know….  I think I  just liked the setting of my youngest’s baptism best.

The creek was not manmade, but God-made.

We were surrounded by good friends.

And while it was public, it was also a bit more intimate.

The symbolism of baptism…

My son and his father…

So beautiful.  To me.

Come on in, the water’s fine!

E.

3 comments

  1. Andrea

    Love it all! Great pic of S, and of B!!! The picture of dying with Christ and rising again as a new creation is beautiful.

  2. Paul Morris

    Hey Liz, my youngest son Logan went forward last night, to be baptized. We had excepted Christ a while back, but was nervous about going forward in church. He looked up at me and said, “can I go now”. I was so proud. He will be baptized in the next couple of weeks. One more to go, our little angel Jenna Lee, she is 5.

  3. Laura Sneed

    O Brother is one of my favorite movies…
    I love your pictures.
    I was baptized at the age of 13 in a tiny church in Tyler, TX. It was my cousins’ church…. I’ll never forget it ~ the baptistry had a mural on one side that looked like a river with reeds growing beside it… I felt a bit like Moses 🙂

I'm curious. Tell me what you think...

