Pumpkins, chocolate cake, and spaghetti sauce… Mmmm, mmmm, good!

(Shout to Beverly M.!!  Have you seen??  It’s baaaaccckkk!!!)

(Please ignore the dried milk spot on the table…)

My neighbor, Beverly, and I love pumpkin anything.  But, especially, Pumpkin Spice creamer for our coffee.  Mmmmm, yummy….  It just screams Fall!

While, in reality, it may still be in the 90’s and horribly humid here, in our hearts, it’s in the upper 60’s, we’re wearing our favorite sweater/sweatshirt, eating soups and chowders and sipping hot, pumpkin-y coffee…. In our hearts, it’s Fall.  In our hearts and in our imaginations, we, here in SE Houston, actually have seasons….

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

See that cake in the background, above?  I made that last night.

My, is it good.

No really.  It’s good.

I got the recipe from my friend, Margo, who, sadly, lives in Arkansas.  (No, she’s not sad she lives in Arkansas–I’M sad she lives in Arkansas.  She and her husband, Doug, and their twins have lived there for many years, now, but I tend to hang on to things and not let go.  I have not forgiven them, yet, for moving up there.)   Margo, among many other wonderful qualities, is one of those individuals who shares, willingly and with joy, her recipes.

My family has greatly benefited from Margo’s generosity.  In fact, now that I think about it, I believe I shall now blame Margo for the extra tonnage I have gained over the years.  (She doesn’t live nearby, so she can’t stop me from blaming her.)

Her chocolate cake is favorite of mine to make….So, easy, yet, so yummy.  And, every time I make it (or any other recipe shared by my friend Margo), I think of her.  Which is a good thing.  Because I haven’t called or emailed her in a while–I’ve been a bad friend. But, by making this cake, it reminded me to think of her and pray for her and her family.

That’s what sharing a recipe can do…. crazy, huh?

It also gave me breakfast…

..to go with my Pumpkin Spice coffee.

It was a good morning.

___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Okay, so speaking of good mornings and Margo…  I also threw together her easy-sneezy recipe for Spaghetti sauce.  It’s one of those, what I call, “dump” recipes.  You know, you just dump a bunch of stuff together and something delish comes out.

I made this on the stove, this morning, but usually, I just throw it into a crock pot and let it be.

I love knowing that dinner plans are already taken care of.

“Sorry, Sonic!  You don’t get any of our money, today!!  We’re eating IN, tonight!!”

Thanks, Margo, for being willing to share; you’ve made my family very happy over the years.  I love and miss you and yours!!

What are you having for dinner, tonight?

E.

3 comments

  1. launda

    I love fall too. Everything about it. The pumpkins, coffee on the porch, crunchy leaves( that I get the boys to rake), football games…etc, etc. And I too, have recipes that remind me of good friends that are no longer close in distance but are still close to my heart. Here’s to good friends and cooler weather!!

    • Elizabeth Simmons

      Oh, how I wish we had a few crunchy leaves to rake… We have only mosquitoes and humidity… Actually, right now, with all the rain we’ve been getting, we’ve got mushrooms and mold. And mosquitoes and humidity.

      I’m going read and re-read your comment and imagine I’m on the porch with you… 🙂

  2. Beverly Merriman

    I love it Elizabeth! We think exactly alike on this! My trip to the store the other day included two new Fall soups/stews and two new pumpkin recipes. I did not see the creamer out then. However, I will go today to look for it again! This time of year makes me just want to stay home and cook all day everyday 🙂 Enjoy your day and that fabulous creamer 🙂

I'm curious. Tell me what you think...

