State Fair Food

I seem to be starting my posts, as of late, with warnings….

WARNING!  Do not, I repeat, do not read this right before lunch…or during that mid-afternoon munchie-attack time.  You will regret it.  I cannot be responsible for what you might grab and stuff into your mouth after reading this.

I warned you.

I know, I know….  You’re probably very tired of my State Fair posts, but at least I’m not talking about blood-sucking vermin again. (see following blog post)

I’m telling you, there’s nothing like a State Fair!  So, bare with me as I show you a little more of what Texas has to offer each October in Dallas.

There’s so much to do and see and do at the State Fair!

And  so much to eat.

I’ve already posted an entire commendation to Fletcher’s Corny Dogs….

(Is it wrong to covet a corny dog??)

Of course, there was the standard Fair fare of melt-in-your-mouth cotton candy…

…and corn on the cob.

And, even yummy Nutty Bars…

made right before your eyes….

Or, what about huge Belgian waffles topped with fresh strawberries, whipped cream, and a load of powdered sugar?

But, besides Big Tex, yummy corny dogs, a giant ferris wheel, and women with very big hair, the State Fair is known for its deep-fried offerings.

Want some caffeine, but don’t want to carry around a cup full of steaming, hot coffee?

Well, just get it fried!

But, what if you are watching your figure and you are hungry for a something a little lighter, maybe even low-cal?

Like a salad or a sandwich…that sounds safe, right?

Nothing is off-limits when it comes to deep-frying.

Really? A fried Peanut Butter, Jelly & Banana Sandwich??

They offered fried beer, fried margaritas, fried peaches and cream, fried pepperoni pizza, fried cookie dough, fried pop-tarts, fried Oreos, even fried cheese curds….  (I feel like a scene out of Forrest Gump.)

And, that’s just naming a few!

This last one caught my eye, just as we were leaving the fair.  It just looked and sounded as bad as it gets.

I leave you with….

Yuck.  And double yuck.

E.

5 comments

  1. Mom

    You failed to mention fried butter, which I chose to try. We asked for a dusting of cinnamon sugar (could have had cherry sauce or garlic(?) ),but cinnamon sugar sounded somewhat less messy. Tasted just like a sopapilla.

I'm curious. Tell me what you think...

