A few of my favorite things…

1.  My new Fossil watch.

My mother gave me some money for my birthday (thanks, Mom!), so I used it to purchase myself a new watch.

This watch is huge.

Like Big Ben huge.

Why such a large timepiece?

You see, as I’ve gotten older, my arms have gotten shorter.

No, really!  They’ve shrunk.

I know my arms are shorter because it had gotten progressively harder and harder for me to read the time on my  former, smaller watch… I was having to stretch and contort to hold my arm way out in front of me while leaning my head way back just to see the tiny, little numbers.  It was very annoying.

Nooooo, my eyesight is not getting worse, my arms are getting shorter!!  They’re the only things on my entire body shrinking these days.

So, to solve my problem, I took my birthday money to the Fossil store in the Mall and purchased myself a bigger watch!   (Mine is from the Boyfriend series, and they’re pretty cool, if you’re into big watches or if your arms are getting shorter.)

(My watch is being displayed on a new birthday scarf from my mom–thanks, again, Mom!–more on that in a future post.)

2.  Cake Wrecks.

I’m sure you’ve heard of this website….You probably already know it’s a hoot.  If you’ve never heard of it, you should visit.

Jen Yates, the creator of the Cake Wrecks, writes on her blog:

A Cake Wreck is any cake that is unintentionally sad, silly, creepy, inappropriate – you name it. A Wreck is not necessarily a poorly made cake; it’s simply one I find funny, for any of a number of reasons. Anyone who has ever smeared frosting on a baked good has made a Wreck at one time or another, so I’m not here to vilify decorators: Cake Wrecks is just about finding the funny in unexpected, sugar-filled places.

I wanted to post a picture of one of their wrecked cakes, but I wasn’t sure if I should do that.  So, I just copied her quote and gave her credit.  I hope she doesn’t sue me.

Go visit Cake Wrecks.

3.  Awkward Family Photos.

Okay, if you don’t have time to sit and look at funny cakes, you should at least take the time to go to my latest favorite website, Awkward Family Photos.  Right now, they are showing awkward family holiday photos.

I feel it is imperative that you look at the pregnancy photos.  Some you just have to see to believe.

4.  This mascara:

photo courtesy of BeautyJunkiesUnite.com

When I smile, or blink, or basically breath, my eyes seem to close tightly, most especially when I smile, forcing my lashes to leave dark remnants of any mascara under my eyes.  I have tried everything, from water-proof mascara, oil-free concealer, powder under, and even on, the lashes, all in an attempt to prevent the dark under-eye smudges.  (Now, what I need to do about the permanent dark bags under my eyes is whole other story.)

Anyway, I had read or heard about the new “tube” mascaras and even tried another brand for a number of months with little to no success.  Right before our trip to Jordan, I just happened to see this version of tube mascara and grabbed it, on a whim.  I thought I’d give a different brand an opportunity to leave its mark under my eyes.  I packed my carry-on bag with make-up removers and extra foundation for the inevitable touch-ups I’d have to make due to my mascara issues.

Boy was I pleasantly surprised!  This mascara held up to 16 hour-plus travel days, including sleeping on planes while wearing a sleep mask.  I woke up, went to the lovely, tiny water closet on the plane, only to find that my mascara did not budge.  I had only to re-apply my foundation because I had drooled while sleeping.  But, we’ll deal with that on another day.

This mascara is my new favorite and I hope against hope that L’Oreal never, ever stops making it.  They have a customer for life!

If you’ve ever had trouble with mascara flaking or rubbing off, or just plain smudging for no good reason, then for the love of Pete, try this mascara!

I hope you’ll like as much as I do!

6.  My family.  My favorite.

‘Nuff said.

What are some of your favorites?

E.

P.S. None of these companies or websites know who I am, so they don’t give me anything for mentioning them.  But, if they wanted to, that’d be okay, too.  (wink, wink, nudge, nudge)

3 comments

  1. Laura Sneed

    That cake you made for Del when we were at Baylor would have been the perfect Cake Wreck… Oh, what a yummy wreck it was!
    As for mascara, my current fave is Avon’s Wash-off Water-proof Mascara. It doesn’t smudge, and it doesn’t take a harsh makeup remover to get it off, either 🙂
    Merry Christmas, Sweetie ~
    Laura

I'm curious. Tell me what you think...

