Unknowing…yet, knowing

I’ve been sitting here for quite a while trying to find something witty, or light, to write about, but I can’t seem to get past the pain my mom has been in over the last few weeks.

Without giving a ton of details–because she is a private person and blogs are not–she is now receiving radiation.

And, because none of us have been down this road before, I am left to assume that while radiation is being given to one particular spot, that means the other areas are left to their own devices?  No chemo is being administered at the moment.  Just two weeks of radiation.  That concerns me.

I despise cancer, and all that comes with it.

This is a verse a friend sent me, yesterday:

1 Chronicles 4:10
“Oh that You may truly bless me and extend my boundaries.  Help me and make
me free of misfortune and without pain.”

Stephanie and her daughter were choosing favorite scriptures, when her daughter noticed Stephanie’s bible was tabbed at this particular scripture.  Stephanie wrote in her email to me:

Loved that it was the first one we went to.  It reminds me that God may pull
us out of our safe zone (extending our boundaries) but He is still with us
and He wants us to lean on him when praying for our needs.

Love that.

This is the verse I read the day my mom informed us that she had lung cancer:

1Peter 5:7

“Cast all your anxiety on him, because he cares for you.”

I memorized this one immediately.

It comes to mind often.

There are so many scriptures I could post…

I am so thankful for friends who honestly and sincerely pray for my mom–many of my friends have never even met her.  But, because they love me, they pray for her.

I am surrounded by good, good people.  Knowing others are joining me in praying for my mom strengthens me.  I know, when there are days when I can’t find the words to pray, they can.  Whew.

“I always thank my God as I remember you in my prayers…” Philemon 1:4

E.

4 comments

  1. Janie

    E, count me among those who pray for you and your mom as y’all walk through this. I know it must be so hard, especially as it goes on and on and the novelty of the news/research/info wears off, along with the meals and visits and other kinds of daily care. I wish I lived closer so I could drop in and give hugs and care packages!
    Sending all of you much love and light today-
    Love, Janie

    • Elizabeth Simmons

      Thanks, Janie, for your kind words.
      I’m certainly lifting you up as you recuperate! YOU get better soon!!
      xoxo,
      E.

  2. Brooke

    My thoughts are with you. Uncle waited so long to visit the doctor and by the time they started treatment, he was suffering. It’s amazing how the body can heal though – hugs for your mom.

I'm curious. Tell me what you think...

