It’s Over.

My dumb, ol’ Topsy-Turvy Tomato Planter finally gave-up the ghost.

And, to be honest, I’m glad it’s dead.

I was tired of trying with that thing.  I gave and I gave and what do I have to show for it? Nothing! Not one single, solitary tomato.

The dumb, ol’, as seen on TV, Topsy-Turvy Tomato Planter
was selfish and unreliable. It was a taker, not a
giver. And, I will no longer be held hostage by that needy,
controlling, giver-of-false-hopes contraption. I will be
free. Free I tell ya!

As Steve Martin said so eloquently said in his 1978 I’m a Wild and Crazy Guy routine, “I break with thee. I break with thee. I break with thee.” (No dog poop on the shoes, though…I can get that just from walking in my backyard… [You must be over a certain age to know this routine].)

Others might say it was not meant to be; me and home-grown tomatoes. Oh, how
terribly wrong they would be.

As God is my witness, I will grow home-grown tomatoes this
summer! (It was hard to type that with one fist in the
air, holding a clump of dead tomato plant roots, but I
did it. It was quite dramatic.)

My home-grown tomatoes just aren’t going to happen in the dumb, ol’, as seen on TV,
Topsy-Turvy Tomato Planter.

Nope. Because I’m done with TTTP. Forever. Kaput. No more.

The only exception that would be if they threw in the strawberry planter and sell
them together as a duo….

Now that would be cool!

E.

8 comments

    • Elizabeth Simmons

      I should have known better, Bill, I know. But, I couldn’t help myself. The commercials made it sound, well, too good to be true!

  1. Pingback: Yes! We have no tomatoes…Or, do we??! « Out to Lunch…Looking at life through the lens of Elizabeth Simmons
  2. Pingback: Roasted Tomatoes « Out to Lunch…
  3. Pingback: It’s Spring! And, we all know what that means… | Out to Lunch...
  4. Pingback: First “Harvest!” | Out to Lunch...

I'm curious. Tell me what you think...

