Nope. Never had a Farrah poster.

Just about every man my age, or a little older, including my husband, had the infamous Farrah Fawcett-sporting-the-red-bathing-suit-poster in their bedroom.

You remember it well.

(photo courtesy moviestarstyle.com–although, this picture has been copied so many times, I don’t know exactly to whom I should give proper credit to.  I apologize.)

Whenever any man, including my husband, speaks of this poster, their eyes begin to glaze over, their voices soften, and they suddenly transport themselves back to junior high or high school…. It’s sad, really.

I did not have Farrah in my room.

I did not care for Farrah then.

(I have a cousin who was friends with Farrah!)

When I chose which Angel I wanted to be, I would not even choose Jaclyn Smith.

I chose Kate Jackson.  She was the smart Angel.  Sabrina did not get by solely on her looks.  Or her hair.

I don’t know why!! I just liked her best.

I’m sure it says a lot about me.

But, I didn’t have Kate Jackson’s poster in my room, either.

 

During my late junior high years, I had a poster of Charlie Waters, number 41, of the Dallas Cowboys, on my wall.

sigh….

Although, the above photo was not the poster I had.  Unfortunately, I couldn’t find the original poster online.

He was dressed in a red shirt, partially unbuttoned, and jeans.  If I recall, he was holding a football.  I never really looked at the football, so I can’t be for sure on that small, insignificant detail.

He was oh-so dreamy…

In fact, I moved the poster, at some point, from my wall to my ceiling…over my bed.  He was the last thing I would look at before turning out the light.

“Goodnight, Charlie,” I would say, in a silky voice, and out went the light.  Then, as the sun rose in the mornings, I would roll over , look up, and see Charlie looking directly at me.  He would start my day.

“Good morning, Charlie.” I can’t remember if I blew a kiss to him or not, but it would not be entirely out of the question.

 

Somewhere around my Sophomore or Junior year of high school, I acquired a new poster, a new man in my life.   Charlie was no longer playing for the Cowboys and I had grown up.

I’d matured.

Which meant my tastes had changed…and matured.

I no longer fiddled with little girl things and little girl thoughts.

I was now a woman.

And, I had womanly needs and desires.

So, I ditched the poster of Charlie.  (Oh, how I wish it were still in my closet, somewhere, but alas, it is not.)

I needed a man’s man.

I needed to wake up in the morning and see a man who knew what he wanted, when he wanted it.

No more kid’s stuff.

I needed the Duke.

Yep.

I had an almost life-size poster of John Wayne’s head, sweaty cowboy hat and all, hanging on my wall.

“I’m the stuff men are made of.”  John Wayne


What does this say about me?

 

“I haven’t lost my temper in 40 years; but, Pilgrim, you caused a lot of trouble this morning; might have got somebody killed; and somebody oughta belt you in the mouth.” – McLintock (1963)


I think maybe I didn’t read enough Nancy Drew, Little Women, or Judy Blume when I was younger.

 

“Now you understand. Anything goes wrong, anything at all… your fault, my fault, nobody’s fault… it don’t matter…I’m gonna blow your head off. It’s as simple as that.” – Big Jake (1971)


I must not have worn much pink.

…I think I better go lie down and take a nap; this is too much to bear.

 

“Well, there are some things a (wo)man just can’t run away from.” – Stagecoach (1939)


Oh dear.

 

“Never say sorry – it’s a sign of weakness.” John Wayne

 

Goodbye forever.

E.

7 comments

  1. Oneida

    I was on line looking for that Charlie Water’s poster you mentioned. I don’t remember the football either. He had a piece of straw/hay in his mouth. What a dream boat and he still looks good! If you ever come across that poster…I’d love a copy. Hot, Hot, Hot!!!

    • Linda

      Funny! Just talking about the poster that hung above my bed and laughing about your response. No football. His hands were in his pockets. Or reaching for me as I dreamed…. ha! Has anyone found that poster?

  2. Pingback: Some Favorites of 2011, Part One « Out to Lunch…

I'm curious. Tell me what you think...

