Pig-out Cake

So, if you’ve read my blog for any amount of time, you probably know I read The Pioneer Woman‘s blog quite religiously.  I really enjoy her blog.

Wait.  She doesn’t have a blog.  She has a conglomeration.  She is a conglomeration!

And, occasionally, I’ll make something she has promoted either in her cooking section or on her cooking site, Tasty Kitchen.

For some reason, I was inspired to make her version of Pig Cake.

It was easy and I had all the ingredients sitting in my pantry.  (except for the Cool Whip.)

You must know, Pig Cake will now no longer be called Pig Cake.  (Pioneer Woman had no explanation as to why it’s called Pig Cake in the first place.)

From now on, it will be dubbed, Pig-Out Cake.

Queen Elizabeth has spoken.  And eaten.

Our family pigged out on this cake for days.

I baked it in a 9×13 Pyrex dish, but for some reason, the cake just seems larger than most.

It’s quite delish, I might add.  It’s refreshing and different; it’s not your regular chocolate cake.

But, you have to be okay with crushed pineapple in your frosting.  I’m okay with it, but our youngest wasn’t so keen on the small bits of pineapple.  He loved the taste, just not the texture.

So, I might suggest, if you are turned off by certain textures in your food, but love the taste of oranges and/or pineapples, then maybe you could pulse the fruit in a food processor a few times before adding it to the cake mix and/or frosting.

Go to The Pioneer Woman Cooks.  The recipe will be there.

I doubt you’ll be disappointed….. My hips and thighs weren’t.

Bon Appétit!

E.

I'm curious. Tell me what you think...

