Lemon Pie Cookies

I made these the other day.

They are yummy.

There’s cream cheese in the recipe, so, of course, I made them.

I got the recipe from Claire Robinson on Food Network.  She hosts the show, “5 Ingredient Fix” and I like many of her recipes.

I’m all about simple and easy…and cream cheese.

I have been on a lemon kick, lately, and her Lemon Pie Cookies looked so delicious, I had to make them.

I wasn’t able to slice the cookies as thinly as she did on the show, so I think that took points away from my end product.  BUT, I think if I could have made them thinner, they might have been close to perfect.

The only other complaint was there was not enough lemon/tartiness…again, it may have been because the cookies were too thick, which, in turn, didn’t allow the lemon filling to shine.

They are worth a try, though. You should try making these; they are a nice, light, easy-to-make, cookie.

I will make them again, next time adding more lemon zest and slicing the cookies thinner.

Or, I may just not sandwich the cookies.  Who knows?  I might just live on the cookie wild side…

Stay warm,

E.

Here’s Claire’s recipe for Lemon Pie Cookies:

Ingredients

  • 2 sticks unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 2 cups confectioners’ sugar, divided, plus more for garnish
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 lemons, zested and juiced, divided (about 2 tablespoons zest and 2 tablespoons juice)
  • 2 cups unbleached all-purpose flour
  • 4 ounces cream cheese, room temperature

Directions

In the bowl of a stand mixer, beat the butter, 1 cup of the sugar and salt until smooth. Add all of the lemon juice and half of the zest. On a low-speed, add the flour, 1/2 cup at a time, until just incorporated. Turn the cookie dough out onto a board and roll it into a log. Cover with plastic wrap and refrigerate for at least 1 hour and up to 24 hours.

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.

Remove log from the refrigerator and cut it into thin 1/4-inch thick discs. If using 1 baking sheet, bake the cookies in batches. Arrange the discs on 2 silicone or parchment lined baking sheets, 1-inch apart, and bake until the edges are just golden, about 20 minutes. Remove the cookies from the oven and transfer them to a wire rack to cool completely.

Meanwhile, using stand mixer or hand mixer, mix cream cheese with the remaining 1 cup confectioners’ sugar and remaining half of the lemon zest.

Top half of the cookies with the cream cheese mixture and cover with another cookie to make a sandwich. Dust the top of the cookie sandwiches with confectioners’ sugar and serve.

I'm curious. Tell me what you think...

