H.o.p.e.

We wait in hope for the LORD;
he is our help and our shield. Ps. 33:20

I took the above picture with my phone while at the Holocaust Museum, in Washington, D.C., last Spring.  My youngest son wrote HOPE while viewing the permanent exhibit, “Daniel’s Story.”

I am continuously amazed by his innocence, honesty, trust, and insight….

_____________________________________________________________________________

My friend Brad texted this verse to me the other day:

But God will never forget the needy;
the hope of the afflicted will never perish. Ps.9:18

I am not forgotten, nor is my mother. That brings me relief…and hope.

My friend Angela, who has been a constant encouragement to me, texted this verse:

 For the Spirit God gave us does not make us timid, but gives us power, love and self-discipline.              2 Tim. 1:7

I like that verse, too.

Especially the power part.

And the love part.

Not so much the self-discipline part….  _________________________________________________________________________________

I do not hope for a miracle cure for my mother; it’s not going to happen. That’s the reality of her cancer–she has lung cancer that has metastasized, to her spine (again) and brain.

But, I do hope (and pray) for protection from pain and discomfort, as she continues this journey from earth to heaven.

I must also hope that heaven, as I’ve read in the bible, is better than here.

It has to be.

It must be.

Because, this, right now, is not heaven. Surely, this is hell.

At least, hell on earth.

And, where my mother will begin living again, soon, will be heaven.

How fortunate she will be!

And, complete, and whole.

And deeply, deeply missed.

____________________________________________________________________________

I apologize to those of you who are not used to me focusing so much on my faith; many of you would rather me go back to the humor and silliness.  I will…in time. 

In moments of life and death, though, one’s faith is often the only thing one has to hold onto for strength and stability.  At least, that’s true for me.

Faith.

Family.

Friends.

Each is priceless and irreplaceable.

And gives me hope…

_______________________________________________________________________________

I am exhausted. My sister is surely equally exhausted. …mentally, physically, emotionally…. It’s overwhelming. But, we are exactly where we need to be. Exactly where we should be.

We are by her side.

And, it’s going to be okay.

Eventually.

I have hope.

Even youths grow tired and weary,
and young men stumble and fall;
but those who hope in the LORD
will renew their strength.
They will soar on wings like eagles;
they will run and not grow weary,
they will walk and not be faint. Is. 40:30-31

E.

3 comments

  1. Andrea H.

    This. Just. Sucks. Not your wonderful words and the great verses. But this whole situation. I hate it for you, for your sister, your husband and sons. If your mom is in any pain, then I hate that for her. But I do not hate that she will beat me to Heaven. For that I am jealous. I love you, and hate the pain Earth inflicts.

  2. Don

    Elizabeth,

    Beautifully written. With the Lord we will not only survive but prosper.

    When my father was burried, your mother came up to me at the graveside and said, “Don, How much fun is Jack having with his brothers right now?”

    Nancy Ann gave me such comfort at an incredibly difficult time.

    God bless your mother, your sister and you. Becky and I are praying for you.

    Love, Don

  3. Pingback: HOPE :: Does It Really Help? « Ramblings of a Normal Guy

I'm curious. Tell me what you think...

