sadness and… joy.

My mother went home, yesterday.

She is finished with the cancer; no longer does her body have to fight.

She is whole, complete, healed, and with Jesus.

She’s with all the other saints who have gone before her: her parents and grandparents.  She’s finally meeting all the relatives she’s done research on in her genealogy

I hope Daddy was right there with open arms, as well.

Suffice it to say, she’s having a good time right now.

______________________________________________________________________________

Now, it’s just my sister and me….

Jawbreakers, anyone?

We are going to make it.

We have each other.

E.

“…weeping may stay for the night,
but rejoicing comes in the morning.”  Ps.30:5b

13 comments

  1. Heather

    “Perhaps they are not stars in the sky, but rather openings where our loved ones shine down to let us know they are happy.” (Eskimo Proverb)

    I know your mom is shining brightly.

  2. Paul Morris

    So sorry for your loss Elizabeth. Lifting you guys up in our prayers. If she plays 42 or 88 in dominoes, she will probably run into my dad. Love you guys.

  3. Tammie Tatum Garland

    You, K, C and the boys are in my prayers.
    I cannot begin to tell you what your family means to me.

    I firmly believe that you dont have to see each other or talk to each other often to know what you mean to someone.

    I will see you Friday. Is there anything I can do for you in the meantime?

    All my love,
    Tammie~ (known to Mrs. F as “Tammie-O”! )

  4. Wyla Radke Tanner

    You not only lost your Mom, you lost the best of the best friend in this whole wide world. You and your sister have each other and many friends and loved ones to help you through this difficult time. Let them help.

  5. Donna boucher

    I am sorry. You are being so brave.

    You seem to already grasp what it took me a year to accept…and I’m not there 100%… but I’m getting closer….
    ‘ heaven is as prosperous as a soul can get’

    God bless you and your precious sister.
    Your mom knew she was beloved.
    And so are you.

    Love Donna

  6. Nicole

    Hang in there. It’s never easy losing a parent. Take it one day at a time.

    * On a unrelated note, I’m a new visitor here and I have really enjoyed reading through your blogs. I will definitely be back.

    • Elizabeth Simmons

      Thank you, Nicole! You are right, it’s a day to day process, experience….
      I appreciate both your encouragement and visit! Please do come back to visit!
      E.

  7. Pingback: Some Favorites of 2011, Part One « Out to Lunch…

I'm curious. Tell me what you think...

