Saturday (not so much life-changing) ramblings

20110409-104533.jpg

I have a trillion excuses as to why I haven’t blogged much this week, but the two main ones are: it’s Senior Portrait season, and I’ve been out of town.

I know dedicated, smart, disciplined bloggers write every day, without giving excuses, but I’m not one of ’em. I keep hoping, as the weeks pass, I will get back into the swing of things, but I’m just not there yet. Soon, I hope.

In the meantime…

some meaningless ramblings:

1. I record many tv shows, one being American Idol. And, since I was out of town this week, I was unable to watch it. My dear friend, Kevin, who actually got me hooked on Idol, texted Thursday night saying he may never watch Idol again, after the results show. I screamed via text for him to not tell me the results, I hadn’t watched yet! The next day, I saw on Facebook all these status updates ranting against Idol and the American people. Thankfully, no one wrote the name of who was voted off.

I got home yesterday, went to two baseball games, then finally plopped down on the couch, late last night, to watch Idol. All the while, I was thinking Casey was voted off, after his very dramatic save last week.

Spoiler Alert! If you are like me, and have lived in a cave for a few days and don’t know who was voted off, please scroll past the next couple of paragraphs!

Thankfully, it was not Casey, who I believe is terribly talented! It was Pia.

Yes, she’s extremely gifted with that voice. Yes, it’s a singing contest. No, she was not, in my humble opinion, American Idol winner-worthy. She is beautiful, yes. She can sing, yes. Sweet, yes. But, when she was onstage, I thought she was boring. Even her “peppy” song choice was a let-down, not because she can’t sing, but because she lacked charisma and chutzpah.

I don’t doubt she’ll be picked up and coached to get there. In fact, I could see her being the next Celine Dion. You heard it here, folks. I called it.

ALTHOUGH, I can’t understand why Stephano and Haley are still there, and Pia is not. THAT does not make sense to me. And, I think that is why the judges responded so dramatically. They, like me, hoped it would be Stephano, out of the two left.

Oh well…

2. My sister got a new puppy. She is adorable! (above photo courtesy of my sister’s iphone) But, aren’t all puppies adorable? Sophie is an English Setter, a bird dog. Although, my sister has zero inclination to go bird hunting. Sophie has razor-sharp teeth, puppy breath, and silky soft hair…exactly what a puppy should have.

Bear would have loved her. Too much. That is why he did not go with us to visit my sister this week.

Bear would have said, “Just what I always wanted. My own little bunny rabbit. I will name her George, and I will hug her and pet her and squeeze her…and pat her and pet her and…and rub her and caress her and…”

Too much.

3. Today is another baseball day. We drove home, yesterday, in time to watch our oldest play. So, today, we will spend our time watching our youngest play. It’s supposed to be very windy and warm, today, which means, for me, it’s a cap day. And, probably a no-makeup day, as well.

4. While sitting here typing, I spilled coffee down my front. Twice.

Off to change clothes.

Have a super weekend!

E.

I'm curious. Tell me what you think...

