Shrimp and Wild Rice

Have you ever played Guesstures?  It’s a fast-moving, fun game of charades, basically.

Some girlfriends and I played Guesstures at our friend Barbie’s house, last month.  You see, Barbie was the Hostess with the Most-ess of our monthly Girls’ Game Night.  And, while Barbie’s team lost (by a LOT!), in the end, though, we were all winners; there was good conversation, lots of laughter, a little wine, and a very yummy meal.

Barbie served her mom’s Shrimp and Wild Rice, along with a scrumptious salad and bread on the side.

Meal complete.

Of course, I asked for a copy of the recipe. Thankfully, she was very gracious in sharing it with me, and even gave me permission to share it with you!

So, everyone join me in saying thanks to Barbie.

One. Two. Three.

“THANKS, BARBIE!!”

I think she heard us.

This is really a nice, simple recipe that would make for a really nice, simple weeknight dinner. Or, it could stand in as a very filling side dish.

Either way, it’s de-lish.

Here are the ingredients:

20110415-065049.jpg

As in the past couple of recipe posts, I have taken all the pictures with my phone, which, of course, means, poor color and quality, especially in the not-so-great-light of my kitchen….

(I forgot to show the bags of frozen, chopped green peppers and onions that I used. Oops!)

Saute’ 2 T. chopped onion and green peppers, each, in 2 T. butter, until soft. (I actually thawed the onions and peppers in the microwave for a little bit and then drained off the water.)

20110415-065105.jpg

While the onions and peppers are getting better acquainted, cook a box of Uncle Ben’s Wild Rice, according to box directions, including seasoning packet–give yourself about 20-25 minutes to cook the rice.

Also, if you are using frozen raw shrimp, you can place them in a bowl of cool water for about 10-15 minutes to thaw. If you are using fresh (which, living where I do, I should have had fresh, but I was in a hurry–frozen worked just fine), go ahead and peel and de-vein the shrimp. Then, boil shrimp for about 3-5 minutes, until the little shrimp-ees are opaque. Season and set aside.

20110415-065602.jpg

(Guess who forgot to boil her shrimp? Nope, not me. It was my sous-chef. But, because I’m a good friend, I will not mention her name or show her face. I will protect her….It was an honest mistake that anyone could have made, including me. But, it wasn’t me. It was my sous-chef…who comes to my house, mid-day, on Wednesdays, to help me cook. Every week*. I know you wish you had a sous-chef, too. Maybe one day you will. Then, you can blame your cooking mistakes on her, as well.)

Once your onions and peppers have softened, add 1 can of Cream of Mushroom Soup (I’m the Queen of Dump recipes, I’m telling you!), 1/2 tsp. Worcestershire sauce, 1/2 tsp. dry mustard.

Add 1/4 tsp. pepper (I eyeballed most of these amounts).

20110415-065653.jpg

Add 1/2 C. grated mildcheddar cheese.

20110415-065640.jpg

Add 1 T. lemon juice. (Again, I used bottled, only because I had not purchased real lemons today while at the grocery store. But, hopefully, soon, my lemon tree will begin to produce lemons for me, so I don’t have to rely on the bottled stuff.)

20110415-065619.jpg

Stir gently to combine sauce ingredients.

20110415-065629.jpg

Once your rice is cooked, and your shrimp are boiled, add both to the sauce.

Or, if you’re a loner and a rebel like me, you add your sauce to your rice and shrimp…. 

“There’s a lotta things about me you don’t know anything about, Dottie. Things you wouldn’t understand. Things you couldn’t understand. Things you shouldn’t understand. You don’t wanna get mixed up with a guy like me. I’m a loner, Dottie. A rebel.”) 


(Name that movie.)

20110415-065537.jpg

Stir it gently, but thoroughly.

20110415-065521.jpg

By the way, I added a little Tabasco.

20110415-065550.jpg

It just felt right, you know?

But you don’t have to. It’s a free country.

Pour the entire concoction into a greased casserole dish.

20110415-065231.jpg

Now, spread the love around.

20110415-065215.jpg

Bake, uncovered, in a preheated 350-degree oven for 30-35 minutes.

Here’s the result:

20110415-065153.jpg

Yum!

20110415-065136.jpg

( I really should have tweaked my pictures before posting them…it really is much more appealing in real life!)

Next time I make it, I’m going to add mushrooms (maybe a small can, drained–or fresh, sliced and sautéed with the onions). I might try a different cheese (maybe a mild, white cheese). I could easily see adding a splash or two of white wine, to round out the flavors…maybe.  What if I added Boursin Cheese instead?  Or, cream cheese?

The sky’s the limit!

Here’s the recipe, as written, by Barbie:

20110415-065201.jpg

Happy Eating!

E.

P.S. Mine turned out absolutely perfect, even without boiling the shrimp first. I’m sure, if I had used larger shrimp, it might have made a difference, but honestly, I don’t think it matters. The shrimp were cooked all the way through after 35 minutes in the oven.

P.P.S. I’ve made the recipe again, since writing this post, and this time, I cooked the shrimp beforehand.  It was equally as good.

*I ain’t got no sous-chef.

I'm curious. Tell me what you think...

