How long has it been since you’ve had these?

How long has it been since you made these?

20110525-103416.jpg

(photo taken with camera-phone…when will I learn that food photos with the phone-camera just don’t turn out so great??  It’s just so darn convenient….)

I don’t even know the name of these cookies. No Bake Chocolate and Oatmeal Something-or-Other Cookies. With Peanut Butter.

I think.

That’s how I Googled the recipe.

Sort of.

(I was too lazy to pull down one of my 20 thousand small-town community/church cookbooks to find the recipe. ‘Cuz you know the recipe is in every single civic and church group cookbook ever written!  Of which I certainly appreciate, because we need those recipes written down from our childhood, no matter how easy and simple they are.)

I’m tellin’ you, last night, I had an over-powering craving for something sweet and chocolate-y at about 10:30pm.

That should have been my sign to go to bed.

But, no.

I still had some work to do at the computer, so I decided to whip up a batch of the No-Bake-Oatmeal-Peanut-Butter-and-Chocolate-Thing-a-ma-jig-Cookies.

Took me approximately 15 minutes from start to finish.

Actually, it takes a little longer than 15 minutes once you add in cooling time.

But that didn’t stop me. I didn’t wait for them to cool completely.

20110525-103428.jpg

I just scooped two warm, gooey No-Bake-Peanut-Butter-Chocolate-Butter-Laden-Oatmeal-Whatchamacallit-Cookies onto a plate and spooned it into my mouth. Yum.

I told you I had a craving.  And, nothin’ comes between Mama and her cravings.  Not rain, sleet, wind or snow.  I’m like the Postman!

Or something like that.

I did refrain from having one for breakfast this morning.  Although, don’t think it didn’t cross my mind a time or two. They would have been delish with a cup of coffee…mmmmm…..

But, I was a good girl.

I’m waiting.

I’ll have one or two, or 40 after lunch.

And, then I’ll hide about 20 somewhere in the fridge, so my two big, strappin’ boys won’t eat them all in one sitting after school, like they tend to do.

(I don’t have any idea where they learned that.  I would never do such a thing.  Must be a boy thing, surely.)

So, I’ll have a few No-Chocolate-Bake-Peanut-Extract-Butter-Butter-Sugar-Oatmeal-Vanilla-Bake-Doohickey-Cookies saved for later.

I’m like a Boy Scout…Always Prepared.

Or is that the Army?

Or Oprah?

20110525-104534.jpg

Oh well, all I know is, I’ll be prepared when the next craving hits.

E.

UPDATE:  A friend told me that if I was going to post a recipe about cookies, I had better post the recipe.  So, here you go, Elisa!

No-Bake Chocolate, Peanut Butter & Oatmeal Cookies

Yield: 2 to 3 dozen cookies

Prep Time: 10 minutes | Cooling Time: 30 minutes

½ cup (1 stick) butter
2 cups granulated sugar
½ cup milk
4 tablespoons cocoa powder
½ cup peanut butter
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
3 cups quick-cooking oats

1. Add the first four ingredients (through the cocoa powder) to a 4-quart saucepan.

2. Bring to a rolling boil and let boil for 1 minute.

3. Remove from heat.

4. Stir in the peanut butter and vanilla until smooth, then stir in the oats.

5. Drop by heaping tablespoons onto wax paper-lined baking sheets.

6. Let cool until set.

7. Enjoy!

I even thought the next time I might try to make these with Nutella!  I also read somewhere to try Almond Extract, instead of Vanilla Extract.

4 comments

  1. Emma

    I call ’em No Bake Cookies. And if you over boil the sugar and they harden before you can scoop them? Crumble it up and it makes excellent topping for ice cream.

    Think I’ll be making these tonight.

  2. Lauri Beamish

    I’m so glad to find this so easily. When my kids were little we used to make these. We called them Thing-a-ma-jigs. LOL. Now I guess Hershey has a candy bar by that name. Picking up a ton of peanut butter tomorrow for peanut butter fudge. Can’t wait to make these also.

I'm curious. Tell me what you think...

