Retraction. And other stuff.

“There are two ways to live: you can live as if nothing is a miracle; you can live as if everything is a miracle.” ~Albert Einstein

First of all, thank you, so much, for all the kind words concerning the story about ThrillCam’s and my great-grandfathers!  You were all so kind!  Most of you saw the smallness of our world and how God has a master plan for our lives.

It really is amazing how our families intersected, again, generations later.

Thankfully, no one concentrated on the tragedy.

But, I did have a college classmate of mine point out that I was making myself, my husband, and her much older than we actually are!  I said, in my post, that ThrillCam and I met in 1983.  Typo. (I went into my post and corrected the date immediately.)

We all three were still in high school in ’83.

ThrillCam and I met in 1987.   (Sorry, Robin, for aging us!!)

I also had a family member comment on the fact that ThrillCam allowed me to pay for our first date.  She was not at all impressed with that point.

Well, because my “remember-er” is not the greatest, I got the timeline of events mixed up.

ThrillCam actually did not allow me to pay for our first date.  He reminded me that our very, very first date was actually right after we had met at the record store, where our mutual friend John had introduced us.  I remember the details of the date very clearly, it’s just that I thought it had happened later.

We went out on our first date, right after we met. ThrillCam paid–it was very romantic and chivalrous–then, summer hit and we did not see one another.

It was during the FALL semester, not the Spring semester, that he had repeatedly asked me out again, and I declined due to my theatre schedule.

That’s when he gave up and quit asking me out.

Finally, I asked him out at the end of that Fall semester and I paid for the date.  Which, again, as I said, was only right, since I was the one doing the asking.

So, there you have it; the corrected story.

I know, you probably didn’t care a lick about the details, but I wanted to get the facts straight.

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

We should be getting wet by this weekend!!  And, I don’t mean by rain.

Our pool is almost complete! 

I’ll show you pictures next week.

We were supposed to be getting wet by this weekend.

Unfortunately, as construction things go, it looks like we will have to wait another few days before we can take full advantage of the new pool.

Boo.

But, I will still show you pictures next week.

(There will not be a single picture of me in a bathing suit, by the way.  You can thank me later.)

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Today is the last day of school for my boys.

Sing it with me:

“School’s out for summer!  School’s out forever!…”  

I think I love summer as much, if not more, than my children.  Our summer will continue to be busy, but not quite as structured, which is a relief for me.  I enjoy having a break from getting up early and making lunches every morning.

What are your plans for the next three months?

Deep summer is when laziness finds respectability.  ~Sam Keen

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

More construction, pool and landscaping crews are to appear in our backyard,  all throughout the day, today.

It’s made me appreciate, so much, the hard-working men who do such back-breaking and undesirable jobs.

…especially in this heat.

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Yep.  It’s a hot one out there, today.

Supposed to hit 100 degrees!

And, still no rain in sight.

Yuck and double yuck!

Hope you’re finding a way to stay cool.

Summer has set in with its usual severity.  ~Samuel Taylor Coleridge

Happy Summer, y’all!!

E.

I'm curious. Tell me what you think...

