Bee sting update, a recipe, and other musings…

I received some great tips for treating my bee attack, which I appreciated, mucho.

Gracias!

I actually had applied the baking soda paste the instant I was safely back in the house.

Using baking soda and a little water has been a technique I learned years ago when my mother would apply it to my occasional scorpion stings (long story for another day). So, thankfully, I was clear minded enough to grab the baking soda and apply it to my sting.

Here’s proof:

20110607-023735.jpg

(Like how the baking soda was dripping down my face? It wasn’t pretty, but it certainly helped ease the initial pain.)

I must not have gotten the stinger out, although, I do remember thinking I should grab a credit card or the likes to scrap at the wound, but I was too busy mixing up the baking soda paste.  Plus, I think my natural response was, if I scrape the spot where it is throbbing with pain, won’t that make it hurt even more??  And, besides, at that point, I was still not convinced it was a bee that hit me.  I honestly thought it was something else, until I spoke with my neighbor Tammy, who reported multiple neighbor-bee-victims.

But, as far as getting the swelling to go down, it is taking its own sweet time.

The good news: I’ll live.

_________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Today, we had some rain!!!!!! It wasn’t a whole bunch, but it gives me hope that maybe, just maybe, we’re moving into our usual June afternoon rain shower pattern, where it gets really hot, clouds form, and a quick afternoon shower appears.

I’ve never wished for that weather pattern before, but, boy do we need the rain.

The very unfortunate result of rain, though, will be mosquitoes.

So, I’m torn between my grass dying a slow and painful death and being forced into a city-wide water rationing, or being eaten alive by mosquitoes the size of small Pterodactyls.

It’s a toss up.

___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

The pool is still not complete.

Boo.

The stone guys are here to top the table in the pool with flagstone.

Yea!

Then supposedly, plastering will happen. Not sure if it will happen today, though.

I’m not getting my hopes up.

I’ve had to quit doing that.

I just tell myself it will be done soon enough.

But, try telling your teenaged sons they have to wait, yet another week….

Boo, again.

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

The other night, I had another craving for something sweet and chocolatey. But, I didn’t want to bake anything big, like a cake or brownies.

Truth be told, I didn’t want to wait that long.

So, I adapted and combined a couple of recipes for a tasty and EASY toffee treat.

My quick toffee fix:

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  • Cover a baking sheet with foil.
  • Line graham crackers, as many as you’d like (I filled the baking sheet), in a single layer.
  • In a saucepan, combine and heat 1 C. butter (2 sticks) and 3/4 C. packed brown sugar to boiling. Reduce heat and simmer for 1 to 3 minutes, until sugar has dissolved and incorporated into the butter.
  • Remove from heat and pour over the graham crackers, smoothing it out with a spatula/spoon, to cover all the crackers.
  • Bake in a 350 degree oven for about 7-10 minutes, until bubbly. (Watch it closely after the first 7 minutes, to be sure the toffee layer doesn’t burn.)
  • Remove the pan from the oven and sprinkle 1 C. milk chocolate (or semi-sweet, or dark chocolate) chips over the top of the warm graham crackers. Allow the chips to melt a little and become shiny. Gently spread the chocolate over the toffee layer.
  • Now, you can choose your favorite nut (about 1/2 C. chopped) and sprinkle on top, or you can do what I did for a different twist: I sprinkled about 1-2 teaspoons of sea salt over the top of the chocolate before it hardened. It was subtle, but yummy!
  • Then, place the toffee in the fridge to cool and harden.

Finally, break the pieces up and dig in! (I kept mine in the refrigerator when I was not scarfing down the stuff, but that’s not required.)

(I’ve seen versions of this recipe using saltine crackers. And, it seems everyone has different amounts of butter to brown sugar, so you can play around with that, depending on how many crackers you use for the bottom layer.)

Enjoy!

E.

One comment

  1. Laura Sneed

    The toffee recipe looks terrific! I have a great recipe for a 5-minute mug cake you might enjoy. I’ll send it to you if you like ~ the original recipe that made the email rounds some time ago was not great, but I’ve tweaked the recipe and it’s positively yummy now 🙂 It’s perfect for satisfying a craving, and you don’t have to dirty up a bunch of dishes.
    Love, L.
    P.S. Glad you’re ok and the bee didn’t get you in the eye!

I'm curious. Tell me what you think...

