The Annual Last Day of School Water Balloon Attack!

My neighbors, Scott and Beverly, are so good about keeping up a fun tradition that the boys in our neighborhood have grown to anticipate and love: The Annual Last Day of School Water Balloon Attack!

Each year, on the last day of school, Scott and Beverly fill a couple hundred water balloons and store them in multiple water coolers, all for the purpose of bombarding our sons with water balloons.  It’s a celebration of the last day of school!

I don’t even know what year Scott dreamed up this crazy plan, but he has not missed a year since.  And, I foresee, it will continue for many years to come.

This is the second year I’ve taken my camera out to document the event.

Once the balloons are filled and secured, all the parents and siblings load up on balloons, find a good hiding place, and then they wait…

The boys get off the bus, just like every other day of the school year.

They walk home, just like every other day of the school year.

But, on the last day of school, the boys are a little more on edge, a little more aware of their surroundings.

They’ve come to expect the unexpected.

Once they spot their parents and brothers and sisters, they know it’s ON!

No one is safe.

…Not the boys.

…Not the parents.

Not even cheerleaders.

It’s pure mayhem in our neighborhood for approximately 30 to 40 minutes, depending on how many balloons Scott and Beverly fill.

I think the older siblings enjoy it as much, if not more than their younger brothers.

There’s just something about the idea of pelting your little brother (or his punk friend) with a water balloon…

…it brings such joy.

The boys love it.

The parents love it.

I love it.

It’s just one more reason why I heart my neighborhood.

E.

One comment

  1. Mark

    I can’t believe all this goes on without me! Next year, I am taking the day off and filling balloons all day!!

I'm curious. Tell me what you think...

