Peach Cobbler

Ingredients

  • 3 fresh peaches – peeled, pitted and sliced
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1 1/2 cups white sugar
  • 1/2 cup shortening
  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup milk
  • 2 cups boiling water
  • 3 tablespoons butter

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Grease a 10×10 inch baking dish.
  2. Stir together peaches with cinnamon and 1 1/2 cups sugar. Set aside.
  3. In a medium bowl, cream together shortening and 1 cup sugar. Mix in flour, baking powder and salt alternately with milk. Pour into prepared pan. Top with peach mixture. Drop butter in boiling water and pour all over peaches.
  4. Bake in preheated oven 40 to 45 minutes, until golden brown.
I made this cobbler (late one evening) after returning from picking up my youngest son from camp.
I always, always purchase fresh peaches from a roadside stop in Missouri or Arkansas.  This year was no exception.
I needed a good cobbler recipe for all the peaches I brought home.
I found the above recipe on AllRecipes.com.
I had never made a cobbler where you pour in boiling water!
Well, the cobbler tasted absolutely fabulous, BUT, I will say this: if you like a flakier (or even a “chewier”) crust, don’t use this recipe.  The boiling water and flour mixture make a more cake-like batter.  Yummy, but not my personal favorite.
But, if you like that type of batter in your cobbler, by all means, dive in and make this puppy.
You will not be disappointed.  We certainly weren’t.  Our family just about depleted the casserole dish before the night was over!  Add a little vanilla ice cream, and Bob’s your uncle!
E.
(Sorry for the dark photos–I shot these that evening, after any decent light had left my kitchen….)
3 comments

  1. Lana Rush

    After reading this post, I’ve decided that I really want some peach cobbler. But I really don’t want to make it. Would you please just come over and make one for me? Thank you!

  2. Pingback: The Best Peach Cobbler | neighbor dinners

I'm curious. Tell me what you think...

