Yes! We have no tomatoes…Or, do we??!

So, if you’ve been reading my blog from the beginning, you know my love/hate relationship with the tomato.

Well, not really the tomato.  I love tomatoes.  It’s the growing of the tomato that has given me fits.  And, honestly, if you’ve ever grown a tomato, you know it’s not rocket science.  It’s quite easy.

You see, I attempted growing my tomatoes, two years ago, in the very unreliable Topsy-Turvy Tomato Planter. You can read here and here about my tumultuous past with the Topsy-Turvy.  Unfortunately, I have written FAR too many posts on the dumb ol’ Topsy-Turvy–you can do a search, over to the right, with the word tomato….  It’s something I’d like to forget:

I realized, I needed to “put [my] past in [my] behind,” so I begged and pleaded with ThrillCam to build me a raised bed in our newly transformed backyard.  I was determined to grow a healthy crop of tomatoes!!  No more Topsy-Turvy for this girl!

Looky here:

As you can see, it’s not very pretty, but it’s a start.

___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

We waited until our pool was complete to begin this project, so we were sorely behind on the Spring planting season.  Sorely behind.

In fact, I had a very hard time finding any seed packets and/or plants when I finally started planting.  But, I figure I live in the Southeast of Texas, where the sun warms us a little longer than most areas of the country, so hopefully, I’ll get a few veggies at the end of the summer season.  (My problem is making sure the little plants get enough water in this unbearable heat!)

I planted some peas, green beans, squash, basil, and a couple of tomato plants to begin with.  All but the green beans seem to be trying very hard.

Here’s my squash:

And, look at the beginnings of my tomatoes!!!

I’m so excited.  I really wish I had gotten more plants, but, as I said, it was too late.

And, look at this!

Corn!  I’ve always wanted to grow my own, sweet, fresh corn!  I can’t be guaranteed that it will even grow and produce in time, but at least, I’ll know it can be done.

So, when next Spring rolls around, I’ll order my seed packets early. (I happened to find some seed packets at another store, out of town, so I added corn, cilantro, carrots and spinach.  Sadly, the day I planted the seeds, I forgot and left the sprinkler on–I think many of the seeds drowned.  Sadness ensued…)

But, as you can see, I’m learning.

If you have any tips, please feel free to share.

I know, I know…Plant your corn in the Spring.

Happy gardening,

E.

One comment

  1. Pingback: Baseball | Out to Lunch...

I'm curious. Tell me what you think...

