Pasta with Shrimp and Basil

Oh. My. Goodness.

This recipe is super easy, and unbelievably scrumptious!

And, I think, a very pretty dish.

The tomahhhtoes are bright red, with a sprinkling of green basil running through, mixed in are big shrimpees…. (Yep. I said tomahtoes and shrimpees…)

Then, it’s topped with a yummy helping of Parmesan cheese.  MMmmmm-mmmm!!

You really could serve this to company, and yet, the recipe is so simple, it’s great for a family meal.

Guess what!  It’s a fairly healthy dish, to boot.

I found the recipe on my AllRecipes.com Spinner app.  But, you can find it on the AllRecipes site, as well.

I’ve made a few tweaks, which I will share with you before listing the ingredients and the original recipe by PAL:

  • I cut back on the olive oil.  I didn’t think I needed it in the pasta water, nor did I use as much for sauteing the garlic and shrimp.  In my humble opinion, it didn’t need so much.  But, if you want that much olive oil, and since this is a free country, Oil On, baby!
  • I also used two cans of 14.5 oz. cans of diced tomatoes, which was plenty.  Trust me.  And, I love me some tomahhtoes. (There. I did it again.)  I think the next time I make it, though, I will use petite diced tomatoes, or I will give the already diced tomatoes an even smaller dice.  Remember, I love me some tomahhtoes, but for some reason I felt they could be a wee bit smaller.  (You won’t go wrong with the original size dice, though!!) Also, while we’re talking tomahtoes, I did not drain them–the first time. (The 2nd time I made it, I did drain them.  And, I used one large can petite diced tomatoes.  Am I totally confusing you??)
  • I didn’t have any fresh or even dried parsley on hand (gasp!), so I just upped the basil a bit.  (It needed more, anyway.)
  • I used frozen, raw shrimp, simply because I had some in the freezer.  I just thawed it in a bowl of cold water for about 10-15 minutes. (I’ve heard you shouldn’t thaw them under running water.)
  • I added a little extra salt, pepper, oregano, and a little red pepper flakes for some added oomph.
  • (And, the second time I made it, I added 1/2 C. to 1 C. heavy cream (or 1/2 and 1/2 will do) after the wine had cooked down….YUMmmmmyyyyyy!!!)

Other than those small adjustments, I followed the recipe to the T.

(Don’t you love that?  “I followed it exactly, except for a few tweaks here and there.  So, really, it’s not even the same recipe anymore and I created my own new recipe, but I really, really loved this recipe!!!”)

Ingredients:

1/4 C. olive oil, divided

1 (8 oz) package angel hair pasta  (or thin spaghetti, or bow tie–again, Pasta On!, baby!)

1 t. chopped garlic

1 pound large shrimp, peeled and deveined  (or, how about chicken breast, sliced?)

2 (28 oz.) cans Italian-style diced tomatoes, drained

1/2 C. dry white wine (or, maybe chicken broth?  The sky’s the limit!  Own it, baby!)

1/4 C parsley, chopped

3 T. fresh basil, chopped

3 T. Parmesan cheese, grated (or more!)

Directions:

1.  Bring a large pot of water to boil, add 1 T. olive oil.  Cook pasta until al dente.  (Save a few tablespoons to 1/4 C of the pasta water for the sauce.) Drain and set aside.

2. Heat remaining olive oil in a large skillet over medium heat.  Cook garlic; stirring constantly.  Do not over-cook; cook for about 1 minute.  Add shrimp and cook for 3-5 minutes.  Again, do not over-cook!  Remove shrimp from skillet, and set aside.

3.  Stir tomatoes, wine, parsley, and basil and a little bit of the pasta water into the skillet.  Continue cooking, stirring occasionally, until liquid is reduced by half, about 8 to 12 minutes.  Add shrimp and continue cooking until shrimp are heated through, about 2 or 3 minutes.

4. Serve shrimp sauce over pasta.  Sprinkle with parmesan cheese.

Servings: 4-6  (Our family of four–including strapping teenaged boys–could not eat all of this in one sitting.  So, I would say it feeds at least 6.)

I'm curious. Tell me what you think...

