Short Ribs…

I made The Pioneer Woman’s Short Ribs with Wine and Cream, recently.

It was quite tasty and quite satisfying.

Very, very rich.

20110927-080138.jpg

(Photos taken with my iPhone…even with some post-processing with an app, the colors and quality are blah.  Don’t let the pictures keep you from cooking this recipe.)

Here are some tweaks/pointers/opinions on the recipe:

  • I did not have, believe it or not, heavy whipping cream on hand. I only had Half and Half. So, I used what I had. The sauce didn’t thicken as much, probably, as the original recipe, but I am here to say, it did not mess with the taste, at all.
  • I finally used REAL short ribs! The last two times I’ve made PW’s Braised Short Ribs recipe, I’ve used what I thought were short ribs. Apparently, they were not. I found real short ribs at Sam’s!  (Just so you know, short ribs are on the fatty side, but boy are they tasty!)
  • The recipe is very easy. The only, slightly, time-consuming step, is the browning of the short ribs. Otherwise, it cooks on the stove, or in the oven, for 2-3 hours. Then, you add the cream and let it simmer a little longer to thicken. And, voila! you’re done!
  • I’m not one for telling people to go out and spend extra money, but if you don’t own a dutch oven, I would really suggest you get yourself one…some day. I paid about $25 for mine and picked it up at the grocery store! It’s red! I love, love, love it!!! I don’t know how I cooked all these years without it. (It’s what I cooked my short ribs in.)
  • In PW’s post about the recipe, you’ll see that she chose to place the short ribs on mushrooms, rather than pasta or her “famous” mashed potatoes. I did not have the mushrooms, but I did have the ingredients for her mashed potato recipe. So, I made them. The short ribs are very, very rich…so, I would not suggest making PW’s heavy on the cream cheese, butter, and cream mashed potatoes, like I did. (If I recall, she basically says this, but did I listen? No. So, don’t be like me and take heed.) While we absolutely loved the taste of the meal, we all walked away from the table over-full and extremely heavy feeling. If you must make mashed potatoes, don’t add all the other heavy stuff. Keep it light.
  • I roasted asparagus to go alongside the short ribs. So, fresh and great tasting! All I did: snip off the tough ends of the asparagus, place the tips on a foil- or parchment-lined pan, spray or drizzle with olive oil, and sprinkle with S & P (or Paula Dean’s House Seasoning). Cook for 10 minutes in a 425-degree oven. So easy! So fantastic!!  (Even if you’re not a regular asparagus eater, I implore you to try it roasted. You will thank me for it.)

20110927-080150.jpg

Again, please don’t base your decision on whether to try this recipe or not, on my photos.  They, admittedly, are horrible.  But, I wanted to show you proof that I actually cooked the recipe.

It’s a great recipe.  And, it’s fairly easy, too.

Have a great day!

E.

2 comments

  1. Stan

    Hey, did Bear throw up next to the ribs and asparagus? I’m sure glad he can aim.

    You know I’m just serious… sure it tasted great. I heard your not supposed to give your dog wine…? …. or chocolate…

    • Elizabeth Simmons

      Oh, Stan. After I looked at the post, online, I thought the same thing!! I’m so embarrassed the potatoes look so incredibly disgusting!!! I just don’t seem to have a good handle on taking pictures with my phone, and, like a big dummy, I just keep doing it! Even when I know I shouldn’t–at least, for food pictures.
      Like I said, though, don’t let the pictures prevent you from cooking the recipe. You’ll see far better pictures over at The Pioneer Woman’s site, I promise!

I'm curious. Tell me what you think...

