And in the morning, I’m makin’ waffles!

When our oldest son was about 12 or 13 we gave him a waffle maker for Christmas.

Sounds weird, yes, but you should have seen how his face lit up with joy!

I’m not kidding.

The kid loved waffles.  So, it only made sense that we give him a waffle iron of his own.

Right?

The kid still loves waffles.

So every once in a blue moon, I get out of bed before noon and make him some.

(We were out of town this weekend for both a wedding and some baseball, and I told my son if hit a home run, I’d make him waffles Monday morning.  Well, he didn’t hit a home run, but it was sure close, so I got my hiney out of bed and made him some waffles!)

Usually, I use the recipe in the little booklet that came with the waffle iron.  It’s a simple recipe that produces good waffles.

But, this morning, I opted to search the interweb for a new recipe.

What I found included an extra step of beating egg whites before adding them to the batter.  It made for an easy and quite tasty recipe.

So, grab yourself a waffle iron, some butter and syrup and give yourself about 20 minutes for prep time.

Soon you’ll have some crispy, yet moist, yummy waffles in no time!

(Sorry I didn’t take pictures along the way.  It was too early and I was in a hurry to get the waffles cooked before my sons had to leave for school.)

Waffle Recipe  (Rumor has it, this recipe originated in the Better Homes and Gardens Cookbook.)

Ingredients:

1 3/4 C. all-purpose flour

1 t. baking powder

1/4 t. salt

2 eggs (separate the whites and the yolks, set whites aside)

1 3/4 C. milk

1/2 C. oil (I used Canola)

1.  Preheat waffle iron.

2.  In a medium bowl, stir together the flour, baking powder and salt.  Create a well in the center of the flour mixture.

3.  In another bowl, beat egg yolks, slightly.  Then, add milk and oil.

4.  Pour yolk/milk mixture into flour mixture and stir until just moistened.  It will be slightly lumpy.  And, that’s ok.

5.  In another small bowl, beat the egg whites until stiff peaks form.

6. Gently fold egg whites into the flour/egg yolk mixture, leaving a few puffs of egg whites.  Do not over-mix.

7. Follow waffle iron directions for how much batter to pour into iron and for how long to cook the waffles.

Enjoy!!

E.

 

P.S. I cannot sleep until noon.  It’s hard for me to sleep until 9 a.m. on the weekends.  I’m hoping that will change once the boys are out of the house and I’m living on an exotic island in the Pacific.

I'm curious. Tell me what you think...

