New and old favorites

1.  It’s baaacccckkk!!  It’s Fall, so that means pumpkin-flavored items have returned.

My neighbor Beverly and I pretty much eat and drink all the pumpkin we can until we are basically burned out on the stuff come January.  Fortunately, the flavors of Christmas and eventually Spring have begun to take over by then, and it allows our tastebuds to recover from the pumpkin overload.

In the meantime, I’m adding a little Pumpkin Spice creamer to my Honduran Cloud Forest Coffee.

All is well with my soul.

By the way, I’ll be making my yummy Pumpkin Soup, soon, too!!

2. For about two weeks last month, we had an absolute hostile take-over by mosquitoes.  I’m not kidding.  You could not walk out the door without them literally swarming and attacking you.  It was the worst I’ve ever seen.  And, believe me, it’s been bad around here.

Like during the weeks following Hurricane Ike.  The mosquitoes were HUGE and everywhere.

(sorry for the too dark, not-so-in-focus photo…took it a few years ago, for my Facebook page, following Hurricane Ike.)

During this most recent mosquito plague, I discovered Cutter Yard Spray.

A-mazing.

So far, I don’t think I’ve seen one mosquito in our backyard since I sprayed.

The label says it also kills other annoying pests, like ticks, spiders, and ants.  Those?  The verdict is still out.  I’ll let you know if it helps with the other pesky pests or not.

3. Pinterest

If you haven’t heard of it by now, you are probably living under a rock.  It’s taking the internet by storm.

It allows you to collect pictures from interesting articles, blogs, websites, etc. and compile them on “boards.”  You “pin” an interest to a “board” in your account.  Others can follow your pins and either “like” them, or even “re-pin” them onto their own boards.

What I have enjoyed is finding great ideas for home decorating and designing.  The only custom house I’ve ever lived in was my parent’s house.  Every other home has been a cookie-cutter design.  (Don’t get me wrong, I’m not complaining!)  But, I do enjoy looking at what creative designers and architects can and have come up with on custom homes.  So, I’ve created a board called, “Dream House Ideas” for my fantasy dream house.

I’ve also been collecting new recipes.  Some healthy, some not.  (Don’t tell Perky-trainer-Cheri!!  She’s already taken away my chips and salsa!  She might decide cream cheese is next!!)  The recipes are pinned on two different boards of mine: Yummy Recipes (origninal, no?) or Healthy Choices, depending on taste and fat-levels.   Needless to say, I have way more recipes collected on my Yummy Recipes board than the Healthy Choices.

BUT, I’m trying!!!

Are wanting new ideas for Christmas decorating?  Do a search.  You’ll find all kinds of ideas for the season!

If you want to look me up on Pinterest, I’m under esimmonsphotog.

By the way, is it P-interest or PIN-terest or PIN-interest?  I’ve heard it pronounced several ways.

4.  L’oreal Double Extend Mascara

I’ve written about this before.  But, I’m hoping lots and lots of ladies buy this mascara so L’oreal will never discontinue it.

You apply the white end first, then follow with the red end.  It creates “tubes” around your eyelashes.  It does not flake.  It does not smear.  I love, love, love it.  I love it so much I want to marry it.

Not.

When you take it off, it literally comes off in little rubbery-like tubes, easily.  It’s hard to explain.

Try it!  You’ll like it!

Take a tip from me!

I tried it.  I liked it!

A mascara victory!

5.  Elf Youself!  by OfficeMax.com

Can you tell it’s been a few years since I elved (??) ourselves? ElfYourself really a fun thing to do, if you haven’t.  Just go to http://www.elfyourself.com to join in on the fun.

Hope your week is super, just like you!

Yours til the banana splits,

E.

I'm curious. Tell me what you think...

