Early morning offerings…

I love breakfast.

You can tell we were on vacation (above), because I never make breakfasts that big and scrumptious.

I do wish, though, I spent more time on breakfast, but often times, it ends up being my usual Greek yogurt with granola and honey (yummy! and healthy!), my Quaker Oats Instant Maple and Brown Sugar Oatmeal (the only breakfast oatmeal I can tolerate) with extra fiber (let’s not go there…), or a McDonald’s Egg McMuffin (the least unhealthy breakfast sandwich at McDonalds).

That routine gets boring at times.

So, if I have the time, I like to throw in something different.

Eggs in Basket, or Birds in a Nest, or Frog in a Hole….this breakfast favorite has a trillion names, but basically, it’s an egg cracked into the middle of a piece of bread.

So easy to prepare: butter on a grill pan, cookie cutter hole taken out of the middle of a piece of bread, put bread on grill pan, crack egg into middle, sprinkle with salt and pepper, cook a minute or two, flip.

I love this for breakfast.  I am trying, at present, to not eat the little rounds of toast, but in all honesty, I find those to be quite irresistible.

For another twist, I discovered this breakfast treat recently on Pinterest.

All you do is spray a large muffin tin with cooking spray, place a thin (not too thin, not too thick) piece of ham in the muffin to create a cup, then crack an egg into the center of the ham.  Sprinkle with salt and pepper and your choice of cheese–I’ve used both cheddar and parmesan with equal success.

Bake the ham and egg cups for 10-12 minutes at 400 degrees, depending on how runny or cooked you like the yolk.

I like my yolks a little on the runny side, so 12 minutes was too long for my oven; my eggs came out to a soft-boiled stage.

But, that’s okay, too.  I pretty much love eggs cooked any way, any how.

Do you have any fabulous, but easy breakfast ideas?  Send ’em my way!  (Or, find me on Pinterest and share the recipes there!)

Yours ’til butter flies,

E.

Twitter: @esimmonsphotog  Pinterest: esimmonsphotog

I'm curious. Tell me what you think...

