I just can’t help it…

I just can’t help it. Those of us who love Baylor University are still reeling from the upset over Oklahoma last Saturday.

What an amazing game!!

I grew up loving the Bears.

I think I was born with Green & Gold blood coursing through my veins.

You see, my mother, her father, his two brothers, his sister, almost all their children, my uncle, and many other cousins all attended Baylor. In fact, our family has been given the First Families of Baylor Award commemorating the multiple generations in our family that have attended Baylor.
(I even married a Baylor Bear!)

Baylor was my one and only choice, when it came to deciding where to go to college.

(That is me and my Freshman roommate, Marcy, the first day we met.)

To say I love my alma mater is an understatement.

Football has always been a big part of my Baylor history, as well. I attended games during our winning years, back in the 70’s while Grant Teaff was coach.

But, the same could be said of the lean years, after Coach Teaff. Just about every weekend in the Fall, I could be found near the 50 yard line in the alumni section at Baylor’s football stadium.

We’ve even followed the Bears to different locals all over the country.


…to play Army


…UConn
…Georgia, Notre Dame,& UNLV, just to name a few
…bowl games like The Liberty Bowl, The Sun Bowl, The Bluebonnet Bowl, The Alamo Bowl…the list goes on.

And, of course, we attend games right there in Waco, still today, sitting in the very same seats my grandparents purchased when the stadium was built.

Needless to say I have a long history with Baylor. And when they do well, as they’ve done in basketball over the last few years, and now football, I find myself standing a little taller, a little prouder. (Let me say for the record, I am proud of the academic & artistic accomplishments the university has made, as well.)

(Robert Griffin, III for Heisman!!)

Even if you don’t watch much football, you might enjoy this fairly short highlight reel from the BU/Oklahoma game. The commentator (Baylor alumni John Morris) makes it quite exciting! (As if the game itself wasn’t exciting enough on its own.)

Enjoy!

And, Sic ’em Bears!

E.

I'm curious. Tell me what you think...

