Happy Belated Thanksgiving

20111127-094322.jpg

(Things have finally settled down after a busy Thanksgiving week. We traveled out of town and I was unable to finish my post for Thanksgiving Day. But, I figure we can be thankful on other days, right? So, here’s my belated Thanksgiving list.)

Have you been reading your friends’ daily status updates on Facebook this month? You know, the daily “I’m thankful for…” updates? I did not participate in the practice simply because I don’t get onto Facebook daily, and now that the month is almost over, I’m kind of sad I didn’t. It’s a great discipline to daily make yourself write, say, and/or pray about something your thankful for.

So, I thought I’d list a few things I’m thankful for. And, while you may not want to read my list, I, at least, encourage you to make your own, either on your blog, in my comments below, in the Notes on your Facebook page, in a journal, on a poster board by yourself or with your family…it’s never-ending, the ideas on how to commit to writing what your thankful for.

So, without further adieu, here is my short and quite incomplete list…

I’m thankful for:

  • my Salvation…my spiritual life
  • husband
  • two sons
  • good health
  • extended family
  • our church
  • creativity
  • friends
  • laughter
  • dogs
  • sunshine
  • this year, especially, rain
  • chips and salsa…okay, all Mexican food (except Mole`sauce…blech! Sorry to the mole`lovers of the world.)
  • travel
  • the roof over our heads
  • working, drivable cars
  • my photography clients
  • Honduran Cloud Forest Coffee (yum!)
  • the Baylor Bears’ winning season (Sic ’em!! RG3 for Heisman!!!!)
  • my oldest being accepted to college (Go Crusaders!!)
  • good neighbors
  • baseball and football
  • cream cheese and butter and whipping cream and salt and cheese…
  • and, to be very, very honest, I’m thankful this year is almost over and that I’ve survived it. (My mother’s death has had a huge impact on me and my family in more ways than I could have ever imagined…which brings me back to the top of the list and the first few things I’m so very, very grateful for.)
I am also thankful for you. Thank you for taking the time to read this drivel, to hopefully laugh along with me and at me, and for the sweet comments and “likes.” I’ve enjoyed doing this blog very much, so thank you for returning, for subscribing, and for telling others about it.
With much gratitude,
E.
I'm curious. Tell me what you think...

