Fancy Nancy

Fancy Nancy.

If you have a little girl in your life, whether it be a daughter, niece, or granddaughter, then you’ve probably heard of the charming books by Jane O’Connor. They are absolutely delightful books!

Delightful is another word for adorable.

I sound very hoity-toity, don’t I?

Hoity-Toity is another word for assumed importance.

20111130-103113.jpg

I don’t have a daughter, but the books sort of hold a special place in my heart because my mother’s name was Nancy, so she would occasionally receive Fancy Nancy books from me or my sister on special occasions.

Well, yesterday, my friend Shannon drove me across Houston to a Fancy Nancy book signing.

My friend Shannon absolutely loves, loves, loves Fancy Nancy books, so come hell or high water, she was going to be at that book signing! (She was like a little girl, giddy with excitement.  Unfortunately, she forgot her tiara.)

Both Jane O’Connor, the author, and the illustrator, Robin Preiss Glasser, were on hand to read one of their books, and to autograph pre-owned or newly purchased books.

20111130-103203.jpg

Here’s Jane O’Connor reading to the kids.  She was sweet and very entertaining.

20111130-103127.jpg

(all photos taken with my shaky, hand-held camera phone…sorry!)

We joined about 75-100 other Fancy Nancy-lovers, including a bunch of sweet little tiara-wearing girls who obviously all know Fancy Nancy well.

I’m glad I tagged along with Shannon.

Had I not, I would have missed another lady completely obsessed with Fancy Nancy:

20111130-103102.jpg

I would have missed seeing both the author and illustrator all dressed up in “fancy” clothes…

20111130-103141.jpg

..and tiaras!

20111130-103149.jpg

…saying things like, “Bon jour!” and “Merci!”

(“Bon jour” is a fancy French word for “good day.”  And, “merci” is another fancy word for “thank you.”)

(You must read the books to understand.)

Most importantly, I would have missed seeing my friend being tickled pink.

20111130-103215.jpg

Tickled pink is another way of saying, quite happy.

20111130-103236.jpg

E.

P.S. If you are in the Houston area, I highly recommend visiting Blue Willow Bookshop, off of I-10. It’s a small, wonderful locally-owned (support those locally-owned shops and restaurants!!) bookstore that brings in authors on a very regular basis. (They were the ones who brought in The Pioneer Woman to sign her cookbooks and her children’s Charlie book.) They usually get a few extra copies of author-signed books, so if you miss an actual signing, you can usually swing by and pick one up after the fact. Or, I think you can even pre-order a signed book, as well.

I'm curious. Tell me what you think...

