Yes, I cried.

20111205-111540.jpg

The only way to tell was by touch and taste; warmth and salt mixed in with the raindrops, making it hard to distinguish.

All emotion could be hidden by the hood on my raincoat.

None of the record turnout for the game knew.

Except my sweet husband.

And, maybe my uncle, who could certainly understand.

Thankfully, I was able to silently mourn the loss of my mother, once again, this time, surrounded by noise and excitement, cheerleaders and bands.

It was surreal and ironic.

And, I think, cathartic.

I know it’s silly, and most folks would think it’s just plain weird that I would be sad at a football game, but I just couldn’t help it. Baylor football (and most things Baylor) have always included my mother. Period.

My daddy was at almost all the games, as well, but he did not graduate from Baylor, so while he supported the Bears, it was not the same. He supported the Bears because he loved my mother, and she loved her Bears.

I followed in her footsteps.

So, as you can see, getting through my first “live” Baylor game without my mom by my side was hard.

…I guess all the “firsts” are.

Thankfully, it didn’t take long for me to be distracted. My tears of sadness were replaced, after the second play of the game (a BU touchdown!), with tears of joy.

It was a fantastic game!

If you haven’t heard: WE WON!!!

We beat the longhorns.

For the second year in a row.

(For me, personally, this win trumps all wins–I loathe the longhorns–a trait I inherited from both of my parents.)

teehee.

hoho.

(photo credits: Tony Gutierrez)

haha.

It was like a balm to my soul.

20111205-111522.jpg

(Our oldest sat with a friend in the end zone, so he was unavailable for the family photo op.  I doubt he was sad to miss it.)

Listen.

I appreciate you.

I do.

Thanks for humoring me and allowing me to share my excitement over my alma mater’s winning season. You’ll have only a few more posts (this year) to suffer through.

Of course, I’ll post more when RGIII wins the HeIIIsman!

(photo credit: ?? Ap Photo??)

(photo credit: Sarah Glenn, Getty Images)

And, finally, I’ll tell you all about our trip to the ALAMO BOWL after Christmas!!!

Oh. Wait.

I forgot.

Baylor has superior basketball teams….

20111205-111507.jpg

Sic ’em.

Have a great Monday!

To be continued…

E.

I'm curious. Tell me what you think...

