Bucket ‘O Meat

**Warning: Yucky, gross things related to meat processing in this post.

If that makes you queasy, please visit the blog tomorrow when I will make no mention of meat parts or anything remotely connected to a dead animal.

I will discuss the topic of the holidays.

It will be sweetness and light.

Not disgusting and grody.

I promise.

And…I’m sorry.

E.

See that above?

That was what I just about tripped over when I walked into my kitchen the other night.

Meat.

A bucket of it.

A Bucket ‘O Meat.

20111219-173046.jpg

Bones.

20111219-173030.jpg

Parts.

20111219-173100.jpg

You see, ThrillCam shot a deer and decided to process it himself.

Well, himself …and a friend.

Pete.

Pete is a good friend like that.

Pete doesn’t mind meat and bones and parts.

Pete is a hunter, as well.

He and ThrillCam believe in hunting to eat.

So, whenever they get a hog or a deer, it always goes to feed their children.

And, their wives.

Okay, and themselves.

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________

So, what do you do when you ask a friend to come over and help you process a deer in your kitchen?

Why, you invite them over for dinner, first!

Because if you give a mouse a cookie, he’ll want a glass of milk…

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Pete’s whole family came over.

We made a party of it.

A Meat Processing Party!

It’s all the rage.

Not.

________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Pete’s wife, Beverly, and I did not join ThrillCam and Pete in the kitchen after dinner.

Instead, we drank a glass of wine and chatted.

And laughed.

And completely ignored the fact that my kitchen had been converted to a butcher shop.

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

So, fast forward.

The next day, Pete was not there.

The next day, there was still meat to be dealt with.

The next day, sausage had to be made.

Guess who was enlisted to help…

20111219-173116.jpg

Yep.

Me.

I pressed the meat into the grinder and, together, ThrillCam and I created these cute little things:

20111219-173134.jpg

Are you impressed?

You should be!

I certainly am!

I’ve never made sausage before.

Have you?

20111219-173150.jpg

And, thanks to ThrillCam, Pete, and even me, we now have venison sausage and backstrap to last us a few months!

I’m very excited.

Although, we cannot eat the venison for at least a month after freezing it.  Not sure why, but that’s what I was told.

So, I ain’t touching it until next year!

I’ll be sure to let you know how it tastes when we try it.

20111219-173206.jpg

And, so, in honor of our meat-packing, sausage-making awesome-ness, I give you this:

Go Meat!

E.

One comment

  1. Pingback: A Handy Dandy Holiday Decorating Tip…for…um…next year… « Out to Lunch…

I'm curious. Tell me what you think...

