Breakfast Pizza

20111219-164517.jpg

a.m.

Saturday morning.

Mascara smeared.

Breath stinks.

Belly’s growling.

3 left-over, dried-out, stiff, cold pizza slices on counter.

Breakfast!

So, maybe that was acceptable when I was 20 years old and in college, but no longer do I find rigid mozzarella and dried-out pepperoni appealing.

But, give me a slice of pizza for breakfast that includes eggs, cheese, sausage, bits of bacon, and country gravy, and I’m all over that!!

This would be a great recipe to make for Christmas morning!

I found this recipe on AllRecipes.com.

I think.

(I apologize that I am not sharing the exact link. But, if it makes you feel any better, I tweaked the recipe some, so it’s not really the original.  In fact, it’s one of those recipes you can look at once, collect the ingredients and make it. It’s that easy.  You can even pre-cook everything the night before (with exception to the eggs) and just assemble it all the day your make it.)

You’ll need the following items:

  • 8-12 eggs, scrambled (if you use two cans of Crescent Rolls–see below–then go with 12 eggs.)
  • 1/4 C. to 1/2 C. milk
  • salt and pepper, a dash or two
  • 1 lb. ground sausage (your favorite flavor/type of meat), browned
  • 1/2 C. onion, diced
  • Bacon Bits (or the real thing, a few slices cooked and crumbled) (optional)
  • 1 Country (Cream) Gravy, dry packet (make according to directions) (or, if you have the time and inclination, make it from scratch)*
  • 1-2 C. grated cheddar cheese
  • 1 or 2 cans Crescent Rolls (or a can of pizza dough, or a pizza dough round) (I didn’t need 2 cans, because I wasn’t feeding a bunch of folks, but if you have more than 5 people to feed, I’d go with 2 cans and 12 eggs.)

Directions:

1. Pre-heat oven to 400 degrees.

2. Roll out Crescent Rolls to create one large rectangle. Place it on a baking sheet or pizza pan. Set aside. (If using pizza dough or pizza round, follow directions and pre-cook, if needed.)

3. In a bowl, place eggs, milk and salt/pepper. Whisk until scrambled.

20111219-164558.jpg

–Cook eggs in a pan with a little butter or margarine, until just firm. (Remember, the eggs will continue to cook after you take them off the stove. You really don’t want hard, rubbery eggs. Allow them to stay soft and fluffy, like a good scrambled egg should be.) Remove from hot pan and set aside.

4. In another large pan, brown the sausage. Drain grease off. Set aside. (Do the same to a few slices of bacon, if you are not using Bacon Bits.)

–after browning sausage (or during) cook onions until translucent (I used the same pan as the sausage.) Mix cooked onions into browned sausage.

20111219-164610.jpg

5.Mix up the gravy according to packet directions. (Or make your own from scratch.) Set aside.

6. Grate your cheese, if needed. Set aside.

__________________________________________________________________________________

Okay! Now that you have your mise en place (oohhh, I’m getting all fancy on you…it’s a French culinary phrase for “things in place”), you may begin assembling your breakfast pizza:

20111219-164629.jpg

  • Smear the gravy all over the rolled out crescent rolls (or pizza dough).

20111219-164700.jpg

  • Spread the eggs over the gravy. (Excuse the bit of sausage; I got ahead of myself.)

20111219-164728.jpg

  • Scatter the sausage (and onions) over the eggs

.20111219-164458.jpg

  • Strew the cheese over the sausage.

  • Sow the bacon bits over the cheese.

20111219-164749.jpg

Now…

8. Slap that baby into the oven and cook about 12-15 minutes.**

ENJOY!!

E.

*The original recipe called for Cream of Celery soup as the base/pizza sauce. I opted for cream gravy, instead. The reviews of the Cream of Celery soup were great, so I’m sure it tastes equally as good. But, I took a risk and tried it with gravy. Next time, I’ll try the soup.

**I cooked mine a little longer, even though the edges browned a little more than I would usually allow them. But, the middle of the pizza crust, especially if using crescent rolls, tends to stay a little dough-y. My boys didn’t mind the softer crust, but I prefer it to be cooked just a bit longer. (Next time, I will move the pizza lower in the oven, which should help to cook the crust thoroughly, while not burning the edges.)

P.S. Once again, I’ve used my phone-camera to snap pictures as I cook something.  That’s not necessarily a bad thing, but when you have poor lighting, like I do, the phone-camera just doesn’t hang.  Sorry for the blur and the off-color!

6 comments

  1. MoonLightened

    Would it be wrong if I admitted that looks so good I considered licking my computer screen? Must be something in the air. I posted a rib sticker breakfast recipe today too. I really enjoyed your blog!

    • Elizabeth Simmons

      If you screen looks anything like my screen, it will not, I repeat, not taste good! But, thanks for stopping by and commenting. I hope you’ll make the pizza for breakfast, soon. And, I will swing by and check out your breakfast recipe, as well!!
      E.

  2. Tammy Erickson

    Would adding the gravy to the top of the eggs and meat cause the crust to not stay “soggy”? Looks so good!

    • Elizabeth Simmons

      Tammy,
      I think that would be a grand idea!
      It might even help to pre-cook the crust, just slightly, before adding the other ingredients?? I’d watch the crust closely, though–it could easily burn. (Could add foil around the edges to prevent burning, too.)
      Thanks for stopping by and commenting!
      E.

I'm curious. Tell me what you think...

