Happy New Year!

20111231-092742.jpg

I am so ready for this year to be over. So ready.

Ring out the old, ring in the new,
Ring, happy bells, across the snow:
The year is going, let him go;
Ring out the false, ring in the true.
~Alfred, Lord Tennyson, 1850

I know one date change won’t make everything better, but I guess I’m just ready for a change of scenery…to turn the page…to turn over a new leaf…for a clean break…new beginnings!

How many cliches can I come up with?

And ye, who have met with Adversity’s blast,
And been bow’d to the earth by its fury;
To whom the Twelve Months, that have recently pass’d
Were as harsh as a prejudiced jury –
Still, fill to the

 Future! and join in our chime,
The regrets of remembrance to cozen,
And having obtained a New Trial of Time,
Shout in hopes of a kindlier dozen.
~Thomas Hood

Here’s to a “kindlier dozen!”

And, here’s to counting our blessings.

And, to looking forward, not back.

May you always have work for your hands to do.
May your pockets hold always a coin or two.
May the sun shine bright on your windowpane.
May the rainbow be certain to follow each rain.
May the hand of a friend always be near you.
And may God fill your heart with gladness to cheer you.
~Irish Blessing

Glory to God in highest heaven,
Who unto man His Son hath given;
While angels sing with tender mirth,
A glad new year to all the earth.
~Martin Luther

Happy, happy New Year, y’all!!

E.

One comment

  1. Elizabeth Simmons

    I feel I must comment on my own post.
    I have so much to be thankful for: my husband, two boys, sister, uncle, in-laws, friends, my home and neighborhood, church, extended family, etc, etc….the list goes on and on!
    My year has been tough solely because of the death of my mother and all that came/comes with that loss.
    Please forgive me if I’ve made it sound like I’ve had such a horrible go of it this year. Along with the sorrow, many, many blessings and joyful moments have occurred.
    All for which I am truly thankful and give God the glory.
    E.

I'm curious. Tell me what you think...

