An Accident-prone Gardener

You know how The Pioneer Woman calls herself an “accidental country girl?”

Well, I’m here to say that I’m an accident-prone gardener.

I’m certainly no real gardener; I just pretend to be.

I’m hoping, though, in all the pretending I’m doing, eventually my garden will become prosperous and bountiful.

I like to think positively.

So, I ordered my seeds about a month to two months back, from Burpee.

A few weeks later, a big, flat box arrived that held my pea fence (caging for the peas and beans to climb upon).

My husband opened the box a little and I saw the metal caging, so I took the whole box outside and set it on the porch. I’d open it fully when my seeds arrived. That was weeks ago.

Today, as I was cleaning out the garden, I started thinking my seeds probably should have arrived by now. But, I figured Burpee knew what they were doing by waiting. They were helping an accident-prone gardner out. Send them only when she absolutely needs them. Not a moment sooner, not a moment later. She needs all the help she can get.

So, I decided to open up the box containing the pea fence. I thought I’d put it in the garden, since I wanted to configure the placement of my plants, once the seeds arrive.

Yes.

As you’ve already figured out, the stinkin’ seeds were in that box this whole time!!! They’ve been sitting out on my back porch for weeks, now!!

(I snapped pictures, for proof, with my phone camera…)

20120306-104213.jpg

We’ve had beautiful sunny days with occasional rainy days, perfect for the beginnings of a garden!!

I’ve probably ruined my chances, yet again, for any tomatoes to ever grow under my tutelage.

20120306-104228.jpg

Am I prone to be an accident-prone gardener for the rest of my life??

20120306-104242.jpg

Will I ever be able to feed my family food grown by my own hands??

20120306-104254.jpg

Or, are my children simply going to starve to death, once again??

Like sands through the hourglass, so are the days of my life…

Huh?

Oh, never mind.

E.

I'm curious. Tell me what you think...

