It’s Friday, already!??

Mercy.

Being out of commission for over a week (due to a sinus infection) really put my whole schedule out of whack. I cannot believe it’s already Friday.

And, because I’m strung out on antibiotics and nose spray, I shall list some extremely random thoughts.

Gelato. I was just commenting on my friend Lana’s blog (Along Came the Bird on Blogspot) that in my dream world there would be a Gelato shop on every corner of every street, or at the very least, within 2 blocks walking distance. While in Italy, I ate gelato EVERY SINGLE DAY. Sometimes, more than once a day. I think this way of living should be incorporated into every city in every country of our world. We would not have nearly the amount of problems in our world, if this were in place.

No one can be unhappy or mean while eating gelato. It’s physically impossible. Because when you eat gelato, you smile. And, you close your eyes. And, you say “Mmmmm.”

Gardening. I planted some of my seeds, today! I am really hoping the forecasted rains do not wash away all my baby seeds! (It’s supposed to rain over the next couple days.)

I did not plant corn. I am sad. I don’t think my raised bed is big enough for all the other plants I’ve planted AND the corn. I’ve learned since last summer that corn needs at least 3 rows to allow for pollination to happen. Last summer I had only 3 stalks. Corn, it did not produce. Well, at least nothing edible.

Teaching others helps you learn. My friend Becki asked me if I would help her learn how to shoot in Manual Mode, she wanted to move out of Automatic Mode on her DSLR. We met for coffee and caught up, then went out to a local park and talked aperture, shutter speed, and ISO.

I advised her to start shooting in Aperture Priority Mode, for now. (It’s a great place to start, if you’ve never ventured away from the green square on the dial.) (On a Canon, it’s Av, whereas, on a Nikon, it’s A on the dial.) I wanted her to think about how the aperture affects a picture. Then, once she understands that, I told her to hang out in Shutter Priority Mode for awhile. By the time she’s done practicing in each of those modes, she will be ready to understand, better, I believe, how to shoot in Manual.

I also loaned her my Brian Peterson book, “Understanding Exposure.” Super book for, well, understanding exposure.

Million Dollar Chicken. My neighbors, Stan and Tammy, are such precious people. While is was home sick, Stan offered to cook us dinner. (Tammy is known for many beautiful, wonderful qualities, but cooking is not one of them.) It was, as usual, fantastic. He made us Million Dollar Chicken. I don’t think it’s the Pillsbury contest winner, but rather a recipe found on GroupRecipes.com. I think. (Stan, please correct me if I’m wrong.) I should have taken a picture of the meal, but I was still too sick to even think of grabbing the camera.

Thank you, Stan and Tammy!! You are a blessing to me and my family.

Downton Abbey. While I was sick, I parked myself on the couch, grabbed the remote, and I lived on Netflix. I was thrilled (as thrilled as I could possibly muster while nursing a daily fever and sore throat) to find that Netflix carries season 1 of this very popular British series.

I kept reading tweets and blogs mentioning this show. I felt out of the loop. Left out. I wanted to know more about this series.

Well, let’s just say, after watching, I’m in. Hook, line and sinker.

The costumes. Incredible.

Someone told me that Netflix is getting season 2 next week!

You see, after much searching, my local PBS station does not carry the show. At least, not that I could find. So, I watched the first two shows from season 2 on the computer. It’s fine, but not the same as on the t.v.

So, I wait.

Patiently.

More on this show, next week.

One Thousand Gifts. By Ann Voskamp. A beautifully written book, focusing on the daily gifts God has placed right in front of us, if only we would stop and take notice. I’m not finished, quite yet, but it has given me much to consider.


What are you reading right now?

Weekend Plans. What are doing this weekend? It is Spring, pretty much, here in our part of Texas. That means it’s baseball season. Both of our boys play. So, depending on the weather, we will most likely be at a baseball field at some point this weekend.

We love it.

Whatever your plans, I hope you’re able to spend time with family and friends.

E.

I'm curious. Tell me what you think...

