Keep Calm and Carry On…

(photo credit: Wikipedia Commons)


My friend Andy Bondurant over at The Collective recently shared a video that I found enchanting.

(I call Andy a friend, but he’s never even met me. He has no clue who I am. But, because he is in my home on an almost daily basis through his blog and Twitter, I feel we are friends. It’s very one-sided, but that’s okay. I’m happy with the arrangement.)

So, have you been seeing a TON of the KEEP CALM AND CARRY ON signs on Pinterest, t-shirts and the likes? I certainly have.

There are even different versions and spoofs of the saying. (All of the following posters are available for purchase, just copy and paste the URL.)

Like:

(http://society6.com/jeremybingham/KEEP-CALM-burger-king_Print)

Or, how about:

(http://society6.com/rachelb/Keep-Calm-and-Click-On_Print)

And, this:

(http://www.etsy.com/listing/91391194/cookie-monster-keep-calm-and-carry-on?ref=sr_gallery_14&sref=&ga_search_submit=&ga_search_query=keep+calm&ga_view_type=gallery&ga_ship_to=SE&ga_page=5&ga_search_type=handmade&ga_facet=handmade)

And, finally, this:

(you can purchase this at: http://www.etsy.com/shop/JulienDenoyer)

I really hadn’t thought why the saying is suddenly so popular.

In fact, it didn’t really appeal to me, mainly because I was seeing it EVERYWHERE. It was and is all the rage.

But, Andy brought my attention to a video that explains the background of the original saying.

And, now because I know the backstory to it, I love it!

I would give anything to have one of the original posters…

Check out the video. Kind of cool.

Thanks, Andy!

Keep Calm and Carry On,

E.

I'm curious. Tell me what you think...

