A few months ago… (Part Uno)

I didn’t blog much last Summer and into Fall of 2012.  There was a lot going on.

For one thing, I was too busy packing, moving, and unpacking.

To be honest, though, the packing didn’t start until later in the summer, so, I really have no excuse.

I just didn’t spend much time in front of my computer.

Nor did I use my DSLR much.

I tended to rely on my phone to capture moments.

Instagram became my new vice. Or helpmate. Whichever.

The following is brief and choppy view of the end of 2012. (Sorry, in advance, for the horrible grammar tense changes, etc.)

Here we go!

So, in June, my oldest punk graduated from high school!!

(Neither one of us would claim this as our favorite picture of the two of us…)
IMG_1275

It was a thrilling moment for us when our son decided to become a Crusader! (More on that, later.)

IMG_9624

But, before he started college, we followed him around all summer, watching him do what he loves best…

IMG_1370

By mid-summer, I was packing my son’s stuff for college and our stuff for a move away from the Houston area to Central Texas.

I believe there are documented studies that show the psychotic breakdown that happens to a human mother when she has to both pack up her own belongings, as well as her son’s.  It’s hard enough to have a child move away. It’s a whole other thing for the entire family to move AT THE SAME TIME!!

No bueno.

IMG_1448

In the meantime, we made our yearly July trek to the Branson, MO area to retrieve our youngest son from summer camp.

Every single year, we MUST stop in Conway, Arkansas at the Market Place Grill.

The Chocolate Mess.

It calls to me annually.

(These phone pictures do no justice to the decedent, fudge-y, peanut buttery, vanilla ice creamy-ness that it is…)

IMG_1476

Upon returning from summer camp, I had to say goodbye to some of my dearest friends.  (Shannon will probably kill me for posting this picture, but this was the last time I laid eyes on them. It was late at night, right after we cleaned and loaded up their belongings for their move to Alabama. No one dresses pretty for moving day. No one. So, they are excused.)

(I’m pretty safe in saying, not a single one of the four of us smelled any better than we looked.)

IMG_1538

A few weeks before our oldest was to take off for college, we decided to take him and his brother to New York City.

And, since our teen-aged sons were on the trip, we HAD to visit the Nike flagship store.

I believe my sons would call this place, “mecca.”

IMG_1598

While walking around Times Square we saw The Naked Cowboy.

Only this guy was an impostor.

He was too short.

Among other things.

IMG_1637

While visiting the M&Ms store, in Times Square, my youngest purchased a pound or two of mixed M&Ms. I think that bag lasted a whole 2 days…

IMG_1632

We took the boys to Ground Zero.

IMG_1640

And, there was no way they were going to miss this place…

IMG_1668

Finally, back at home, we continued the process of packing and moving.

One of the many steps to our somewhat complicated move, was to store most of our belongings in PODS. Someone smart thought of this idea. We’ve used them in the past, on another move. Genius.

(We had to store our things for 6 weeks, and PODS was a great solution.)

IMG_1703

Packing and moving is no fun…for many, many reasons. One, it makes me tired and grumpy.

Two, I don’t like leaving people I’ve grown to love and depend upon.

Three, it makes me very aware of all the junk I’ve moved 30 million other times and never threw away.

Four, it’s no fun.

IMG_1704

This was the view of our OTHER storage solution. UHAUL has its own version of PODS.  Smaller version.

Don’t ask me to explain the convoluted a crazy process we devised to move ourselves….

IMG_1907

So, there you have it. That brings you to August 2012.

Stay tuned for September through December!

E.

2 comments

  1. Pingback: Looking back (Part Dos) « Out to Lunch…

I'm curious. Tell me what you think...

