Dancing with a limp…

IMG_9929 blogcopy

Nearly 40 years.

That’s how long I’ve known Tammie.

Crazy, huh? That’s a long time.

Boy, have we got stories from our childhood to tell!

Tammie actually stayed in the area where we grew up and I left.

Now, 20 years later, I’ve moved back and, thankfully, we’ve re-connected.

Our first reunion came after my mother died of cancer. Tammie came to her funeral in 2010 and stayed after everyone else left. She just sat with me in the quiet. We were able to catch up a little. Honestly, though, I can’t remember much of what we talked about. I just think it was the familiarity that I remember most. She was someone who knew my mom way back when.

That memory and time together will forever mean the world to me.

A few months after I moved back, we found ourselves together at another funeral.

This time is was her son’s.

Her precious hazel-eyed 18 year old son lost his battle to cancer in December of 2012. I wasn’t able to sit with her, in the quiet, after his funeral–it was a packed house with hundreds of friends and family to honor Cam–but she knew I was there.

Unlike someone who is born with a literal hole in their heart, Tammie can’t have surgeries to repair her hole. She will have to walk with a limp, so to speak, for the rest of her life. And, there will be days when the rain or cold makes the limp worsen and ache.

But…

Enter some sunshine: David.

While David can’t ever completely fill the void that Cam left–he’d never try to–he has proven to be a rock Tammie has leaned into even before Cam got sick. (David and Tammie have known each other since high school–he was a year or two behind us. Crazy how those long-ago relationships can find their way back into our lives.)

The really great news?

THEY’RE GETTING MARRIED!!!

And, guess what?

I’m pretty sure they will be dancing at the wedding …and beyond!!

Limp and all.

The best part, they’ll have each other to hold on to.

God bless you, Tammie and David. I pray our Father blesses and protects your marriage for many, many, many years to come. I pray you grow old, crotchety, and completely inseparable because of your commitment to each other! May your dependence on Jesus bind you together and strengthen you as individuals and as a couple. May you continue to honor God as you love each other, your children, family and friends.

And, may you laugh and dance, often….

E.

I'm curious. Tell me what you think...

